You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Virtual Reality Dangerous? Will the Teslasuit Help?

in #technology6 years ago

Well-written and thought-provoking article. I think VR is definitely a mixed bag. I don't really play games these days, although I am sure VR games will be very cool and addictive. I remember when the Sims came out a few years back. Personally I never understood the appeal, but so many thousands of people got lost into that world, living their alternate Sim lives. I can only imagine how many people will get sucked into persistent world VR games. Soon it will be just like sci-fi predicted, with people hooked up to IV tubes and catheters because they don't want to unplug from the VR world long enough to eat or pee.

I am looking forward to 4-D VR movies though. I haven't actually heard of such a thing, but I'm sure they must be on the way. Last year I tried a non-interactive demonstration of VR with just a helmet. I have to say, it was quite an immersive experience. There were many different experiences to choose from. I picked a horror one. I was in a wheelchair and unable to move, while creepy zombie creatures came and did scary things around me. It got me thinking about the possibilities.

I guess VR is inevitable. But overall, I'm really not sure if it is a good thing or not.