Blue Yeti Blackout Edition Simple Review and My Setup

in #technology7 years ago

Blue Yeti Blackout Edition Simple Review and My Setup



Thought I’d write a small post on my Blue Yeti I purchased a few weeks ago. Originally, I was going to buy the Blue Snowball, but after some convincing by my father I decided to go for the Yeti (One of the main reasons was the looks). My dad also wanted to write a review, but I think I beat him to it.

yeti-3.jpg

Firstly, this microphone’s build quality is amazing. I never bought a Blue product before, but the Yeti’s glossy aluminum housing and grill really gives it a solid appearance, as well as feeling quite sturdy. The microphone is large, and heavier than expected. The mic also came with an equally quality stand. It has foam feet to help keep it grounded, as well as weights on the inside of it, making it very heavy. Toppling the mic on the stand would be difficult. (Notice the scratch marks – Didn’t realize the pop filter’s foam-proofing had fallen off until it was too late.)

yeti4.jpg

I usually use this microphone for recording YouTube videos, and it performs very well. If needed, I can use the microphone for school work, which is a plus. I also use the mic to communicate while playing videos games through programs like Discord, and many have said how nice the Yeti sounds. I’ve always kept the mic on cardioid mode with the gain turned somewhere close to a quarter, and sounds like cars, boats, and fans cannot be heard. It does an excellent job of capturing the true sounds of your voice, and only that. Small background noises cannot be heard, neither any static or white noise.

As for mounting the microphone, I first tried keeping it on a desk and didn’t really like the feel of doing that. I already bought a floating microphone stand, and I prefer that much more. I think with it the sound quality has also risen.

yeti1.jpg

Mounting the stand to the table was also straight forward, after I found the spot I thought would be best.

yeti2.jpg

Using an adapter that came with the microphone stand, it was very easy to put the mic on the stand.

yeti6.jpg

That’s pretty much it. The Yeti is an outstanding choice for recording as well as communication (You won’t be that guy with the laptop microphone). The Yeti has some features that I might use in the future also, like being able to record in two directions at once, utilizing another microphone inside of it. This is great for things like podcasts. While I might never use these features, I know that I have them packed with a perfect microphone that will last me for years.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Nice review Ben. Keep it up, keep on steeming :))

That is a quality mic. Your Dtube videos will sound good with that.

Congratulations @silver314! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Awesome post, I know this brand Yeti are popular with content creators to add quality audio - it looks the business and no doubts performs just as well. Will we be getting some of your Youtube videos added to future posts ?