You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Future of Communication

in #technology7 years ago (edited)

Part of me holds this view, another part is more optimistic.

I think it will be very important to teach people to communicate properly via new mediums, and to value the old ways as well.

There is no substitute for face to face communication (at the moment), and I worry when I see people disengaging frequently by whipping out their smartphone while chatting at the pub or restuaraant and zonign out for a while.

However, if true VR communication can make it feel like you are int he same room with someone, then I am really optimistic about this. It would mean I could meet up with friends and family despite living abroad, and feel much closer to them.

Watch this space - only time will tell!