Technology Review: Multi-Monitor Solution: DVDO 4X4 HDMI Matrix Switch...

in #technology7 years ago

)

This spring I was setting-up a high-tech golf studio. I had an issue in that I wanted to have 6 different screens capable of showing up to 4 different applications. I also needed to shuffle around what was displayed on which screen. I realize that Windows allows for some of what I was looking for, but a matrix switcher seemed like a good idea.

I did some research and found the DVDO 4X4 HDMI Matrix Switch on Amazon. I bought it for $99, but for some unknown reason this same switch is now selling for $349. I have no idea why there is such a discrepancy in the pricing from 6 months ago versus now.

At any rate, this unit has worked extremely well. I have left it on full time and there have been no function issues. In the back you simply plug-in up to 4 hdmi input cables and then you add up to 4 hdmi output cables. To increase up to 8 screens you can then plug the 4 output cables into powered 1in-2out hdmi splitters. In this case you would duplicate screens wherever you used a splitter. I find the duplicates useful so that both left and right hand golfers can see the screens while standing in opposite directions.

To operate the machine simply turn it on and click the easy to use buttons on the front of the machine (or use the remote control) to select which input goes to which output. For example, press "in1" then "outA" then "GO" and your selected content will be displayed on the correct monitor (Monitor A in this case). There are additional functions, of course, but that is the main purpose of the machine and it works very well.

If you want to set-up a multi-monitor environment that Windows will have trouble dealing with. It may be worth your time to take a look at this product. I am in no way affiliated with this company and have not been encouraged or paid to do this review. I simply wanted to put this out there since I know that it provides a workable solution that even a fairly low-tech individual should easily be able to deal with.

Thanks for reading!