You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Future survival skills: are you techno - literate ?

in #technology7 years ago

you guessed my evil plans for world domination... Eventually I do think I will turn this material in online courses. Material such as Kevin Kelly's is like a manual for the future. We are given all this stuff without good guidelines on how to use it. It's like an open bar for teenagers...

  • Regarding being passive about technology. Most of technology for the consumer is ok IF you are conscious of how you use it.

A lot of people are unconsciously abusing it and believe me, as a coach I see some people who are having serious career issues. Their abuse of social media is eating up the time they should be putting towards developing their business. Believe me that in a few years we will be talking about digital addiction as if it were tobacco. Especially kids are severely affected to the point where it can affect their brain development.

Try this as an experiment. Shut your mobile off and stuff it in a drawer for more than 24h. See how that affects you, you might be surprised... The reason why distraction technology is so powerful is that it works directly on the reward centers in our brains: Reminds me of Simon Sinek:

The constant cycle of upgrading to new is playing with these same reward centers. I tell ya, the tobacco industry will start to look innocent if we start to realise how the tech industry is pushing our buttons...
Regarding the showoff factor, I remember when cellphones were new and trendy, some guys had dummy ones that were actually lighters...