You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How TUI is Using Tech to Change The Travel Experience

"Knowing that the "holiday feeling" peaks after about 43 hours, perhaps spending much more time than that on vacation isn't worth it, if it isn't going to bring the same satisfaction."

"Researchers discovered that more than 90 percent of travelers wish that holiday feeling would last longer."

"Previous research from the University of Colorado at Boulder, has found that travel experiences are likely to make people happier than material goods."

"They discovered that people received more pleasure and overall satisfaction from investing in life experiences, rather than possessions."

This is why I'm a carpenter in a quaint little drinking village with a fishing problem: a place where people scrimp and save to come for vacation. I've lived here for decades, and while the peak thrill may have worn off after a day or two, the afterglow remains.

There was a day when I wanted money so that I could buy stuff. Houses, Maseratis, vacations. Now I just vacation. Short cut. Cut out the middlemen, and keep the difference. I sometimes take a break from vacation to do some work for my neighbors, which I quite enjoy.

Where would you like to vacation for the next twenty or so years? What would happen if you went there and started helping people? Instead of enduring the psychological torments we have been indoctrinated from birth to consider success, just skip all that and go do good stuff for people that live where you want to, and they'll find a way to keep you around.

I recommend it.