You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Future survival skills: are you techno - literate ?

in #technology7 years ago

In a way I'm a stranger to the notion of technology being poisonous. Might be that I'm so addicted to it myself, but then again. We've been talking about how technology destroys things since, I don't know the telephone? I wonder what the evil was back then, no exercise because you could just call the other person in the other town?

Anyway, I think in the future technology will become more of a symbiosis to us. Some have already started with making themselves cyborgs and so on. I, however, hope I never need to start implanting technology, unless it saves my life, like a heart pump or something. Well of course I don't want that either.

Sort:  

How old are you may I ask? Decades is ok.
If you are pretty young, I think you might be so immersed in it you might not have anything to contrast against.
I am closing in on 40 so I remember a time before life with a Smartphone (actually I was one of the nuts who had a "smartphone" in 2005 already, not much happening on it I can tell ya .

Try an experiment if you dare :) : no tech for a day.
Switch off your phone leave it in a drawer and don't use any PC, tablet, television, etc. and see how you react.
(Hint if you get bored, there is such a thing as a library, with these things called books ;) or you could go out and talk to someone)
We become so conditioned by technology, you might actually experience withdrawal symptoms.

I'm 26 years old. I'm part of the last generation who saw the less technical world and remembers it. But I've also grown up with technology. I got my first own computer when I was 14. Probably a year before that I started using computers actively.

Anyway, technology does fill your life, but it's not always bad. I mean, it depends. Some people get sucked into mobile phones and can't help but message people all the time. For me it kind of seems like a burden at times, but that is why I don't try to interact with everyone. I'm slightly introverted, but not completely. I enjoy alone time. And I think it is also possible. I can choose not to interact with people when I don't want to. Technology just makes it very easy when I do.

As for getting bored, yeah, I think I do get bored without technology quite fast, but I also love those things called books. I don't like reading stuff on screen if I have the chance to choose. BUT thanks to technology I can read so many other things that I never had access to before.

Double edged sword. Anyway, initially my point in my first comment was, that the current direction of technology is to make technology less of a burden. We will start having more and more technology which we don't even realize affects our daily life. The idea is often referred to ubiquitous computing. It means that technology will be everywhere, and the objective is to make things invisible to the user. Get away from the desktop, into the real world, active participation will be irrelevant. Well, we will see how this pans out. I think the times ahead are amazing :)

Until skynet. ;)

Of course after Skynet it's game over... :)