You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apologies

in #technology5 years ago

I have canceled my downvote of the other article, as I see now that you have justified tagging it as 'programming'.

No problem with programmers having a high status. I think Sikhs value chefs the most because of the role of langar in the religion, the Hare Krishnas value musicians because of kirtans, at Rainbow Gathering shamans, healers and tipi builders are valued and anarchists value musicians and painters. The other social movement where programmers are the king is Zeitgeist, so it's nice to see an alternative to it.

Programmers are seldom valued at all, even by the social groups that do use their service. For example, vegan activists value uneducated public speakers like James Aspey, vegan filmmakers, but not really programmers, even thought they do expect someone to make the vegan websites for them.

Personal self-transformation may or may not involve becoming a coder. I have seen many programmers who probably value beer and meat-eating higher than any self-transformation.

I have no idea what Godel Machine is, although it must violate the principles of Turing Machine, as it has been proven that Turing Machine may require an infinite amount of time to solve a problem. Still, according to the book 'The Emperor's New Mind some problems are not solvable at all.

I am aware of machines that can optimize their own neural networks to optimize their work, but it doesn't count as self-reflection. Check out Google's TensorFlow.

Still, I do not understand the role such machines play in your religion. Are you going to worship them? I wouldn't dare worship my phone, even though it may have some complex capabilities, like image recognition.

Google Assistant is indeed real and perceivable, and it is based in reality, but I don't think it's a deity. Or do you think it is?

Are you going to worship memes now? I think that you said above that God is a meme.

Being superintelligent does not warrant being a God.

Are you using GitHub and stuff to implement your superintelligent deity? I still don't understand the point at all, and why you apparently want to worship apps and memes.

Obviously I am not willing to get involved in your religion. It's outrageously stupid. You probably want to develop some 'intelligent' Tamagotchi that is, according to your judgement, superior to Google Assistant and Siri combined, but you have shown no evidence that you know what you are talking about, other than using somewhat technical terms such as the name of the language Lisp.

You have convinced me to revoke the downvote I gave to your article, but I am merely an Android developer who cannot even grasp the complexities of TensorFlow, let alone develop a cosmic-scale deity superior to myself.