Sort:  

Hi, really nice review post. It would be great to put references on some photos/videos that might not be of free use online, that will be a great plus factor in posting on Steemit. Have a nice day. :)

Hi @zazarina ,

Noted and thanks for your advice...it really helps...cheers...:)

Hi,
I agree that Cintiqs are really awesome tools, I did use one for a while, in a company that provided it. But I've never really had the urge to splurge and get one at home... I think it's because

  1. the heat factor. I live in a warm country and my Wacom is cooler to touch.
  2. ergonomics. I like leaning back while working, and also resting my elbow, lower arm or even wrist on the table or tablet.
  3. I'm very used to my Wacom after nearly 20 years lol
  4. of course the lower price, and lighter weight :)

but that's just me. I hear that Cintiqs are extremely popular with most artists, so your post is very useful. Thanks!

Hi @stahlberg ,

It's great to finally see someone replying here according to the topic discussed. And for sure u are in the creative industries same like me...:)

As for your points:-

  1. Heat Factor - Yeah, it's getting warm by hours of using it, my country also warm, but fortunately i'm working in the air-conditioning space, so it's not a big deal for me.

  2. Ergonomics - For Cintiq users, there're product called ERGOTRON to mount their tablets. This mount can suits any positions u need for the tablets, u can even bring down the tablet to your lap. But the price are not cheap, i'm just using a standard stand that come up with the Cintiq for now.

  3. This is personal preferences, as long as it's good for u, then keep on rocking! ;)

  4. I agree on this, me too were thinking about it deeply before investing into the Cintiq because of it's price. I also agree that the other models are light-weight, i'm still using Intuos 3 when travel...:)

Anyway, im really welcome your comments here! Thanks for passing-by!

Thanks @zen1982, ERGOTRON sounds interesting, didn't know about that.
Oh I just remembered, for a tablet even cheaper than Intuos 3 check out Huion, I never used those myself yet but I hear good things. They even have Cintiq-style, about 400 up to 900 usd on Amazon.

really nice review..

Congratulations @zen1982, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 2800 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $647.43. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @hendrikdegrote valued at 74.36 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

NIce and eleborate blog :D To be honest I'm a fan of the intuos series.. I had a cintiq for a little while but I just couldnt get used to drawing on it.. Maybe for lineworkand stuff it is nice, but painting on it just felt strange :D

So i stick to my cheap intuos pro L ;D

Welcome to steem btw ;)

Hi @beekart ,

Thanks for ur comments, intuos line-up are also a great product by Wacom...maybe using Cintiq is just my personal preference.. will amend my post later concerning it...btw, nice art u got there sir!

Thank you very much :D
Imo, wacom is just the brand to go with if you want to draw/paint digitally.. especially for home devices.. i hear the ipad+ipen thing is quite nice on the go . ^^

Exactly..it's just a brand...whatever the brand is, the skills are more important right? Hehe...

As for iPad + Apple Pencil...it's not in my wishlist for now since i don't like to do outdoor sketches while on-the-go...but maybe will get one if needed...haha

Totally.. No skills.. no cool arts .. whatever the size of your cintiq or ipad ;D

I bought the new surface pro and eventhough drawing on the screen isnt super (at least for me) the thing is powerful enough to easily run photoshop and hook up an intuos so its a great mobile workstation which i occasionally need for in house gigs :)

i just say to be honest i just surprised and i loved ur review post

Hey cool post, I also bought a used Wacom Cintiq and I'm still using it, never had any problem with it. Those Cintiqs though. Damn, they're expensive even second hand. I'm not using it often enough to justify buying one. It will be looking at me the whole time, from my table with it's accusive looks. I aleady have keyboards, instruments, books and MIDI controllers doing that to me Oh the pains of waisted potential... :D

Also it occupies so much space right?

But maybe I'll buy a Huion. They catched up I heard, in terms of technology.

Anyway. Nice article. :)

hey thanks @justgoscha

i wonder why u wanna get huion when u already have cintiq?

Great story! I share your excitement for the tablet. I remember when I got my first one for a birthday present. I spent hours playing with it. It really does open a new world for your brain to explore.

Yeah @vilmore ...i remember that too! It's one of the great moment when i get my hands on my 1st Wacom tablet 10 years ago! :)

awesome stuff @zen1982

Thanks @bitrocker2020 my fellow Malaysian...;)

yep, the statement is absolutely true, got a cintiq as my design partner is my dream too. but, my earnings is not enought yet to buy it for now ^^.
let's talk at discord, i need an advice from the real wacom fan ;)
aranda#7234

Hey @aranda

Thanks for agreeing to my opinion..haha...someday, u'll get what u want, a cintiq...it also took me 10 years to get 1 u know... ;)

The purpose of art is washing the dust of daily life off our souls.
Eye catching arts.
Because i am also artists.

Very interesting post about new methods of creating patterns. I really liked it.

I really dont know where to start. I wish to have one too....and budget is an issue.

@perennial - if the budget is tight, i suggest u go for a cheapest one first, maybe can find a used one online or u can try a regular tablet (not on-screen tablet) from another brand like HUION (it's cheaper than WACOM), i have test it a while ago, it's got an 'OK' from me...when ur skills got better then u can upgrade anytime...;)

Yeah definitely going for a 2nd hand.

Great info @zen ... love your post here... I'm using Cintiq Companion 2... upgraded myself from ugee... lucky for me... i didn't buy it ... its been given to me from the funding I did and collabs with my Uni... Fyi...I've been drawing manual since 15 years ago and started went digital after realize its time for me to evolve (about few months ago... haha)... i'm not a tech person and your writings help me to understand the technical part of dif specs and devices... thanks!

Hi Mr @sireh , thanks..glad u like it...;)

I never had a chance to try the cintiq companion till now..but i trust wacom products, they're usually great...

btw, i believe ur experiences in traditional arts is more than 15 years sir, i read your cartoon since in middle school...and it was 20+ years ago! who doesn't know u sir...haha...when u already got a strong basic in traditional art, i believe u'll be mastering the digital art in no time...it's just a matter of understanding how the software's works....

Hahaha... this proves the fact that i'm not a math and tech person... always forget numbers... and i always believe I stop aging and forever in 30s... hahaha...

Congratulations @zen1982! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I have a Wacom Graphire tablet and I agree with the "not natural" feeling that you mentioned. I tried using my Kindle Fire table for drawing but it's not pressure-sensitive. Someday, I too will get a Cintiq. Happy drawing!

Congratulations @zen1982! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!