You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tell A Story To Me || Towards Uncertainty

in #tellastorytome5 years ago

Thanks for reading through @mgaft1.

Well let's take a look at those technicalities.

  1. For the first one: I never mentioned that the oxygen won't be sufficient, but I did talk about the oxygen tank just to point out the fact that they were already nearing their destination. Yeah, 2 light speed means they've journeyed for about (25-26) years, and even at that the oxygen mechanism was designed to last a min of 30yrs but I didn't give the exact, or did I?
    One of the reason I had to emphasize that was to paint the critical nature of what they got themselves into... What if plasdiet is not habitable or probably hostiles were more powerful than they anticipated.... Should they decide to flee, will the oxygen mechanism be enough to keep them alive for long?

  2. I didn't mentioned they actually picked him based on the ancestry of his father and mother. I only pointed that out when I was talking about pictures of his parent in his possession. However, Lila too was on the ship, right? So I think I tried to avoid making the "lucky nine" stuff sound ingenuine and unrealistic. Hence, the permutations and combinations include both male and female. The presence of people of different profession on the ship I believe is enough to convince that they also did the math and made sure people of profession are onboard. The line- learning was no exempt is a proof.

  3. Well, I didn't say 9 race but of course I didn't do enough justice to this part. I should have mentioned the number of races there is. In this case, fictitious number of race would apply: I'd say 18. Hence, the lucky nine survival mechanism will mean (18 x 9), 162 gets onboard. Preservation of the human race means a small sample of all that matters, so, the female won't be left behind, or would they?

However I really appreciate you reading through... It means a lot. I will effect the needed change immediately.

Sort:  

Well cool! I must not read carefully enough and just voiced out what seemed unclear to me.

Looking at it now... on number 1 I was actually diametrically wrong. If Tom was 24-25 then with that speed they traveled already 48-50 Earth years. Thus, oxygen tanks should really be depleted just like you wrote.

And I misread this ...

nine people were chosen from each race of human there is
So you said 18 races x 9. Got it. There are different race qualifications. I've seen somewhere there are only 4 but have seen those when there were listed many more. 18 sounds good enough. And yeah it really makes no difference. I misread 9 of each race. I thought it was 9 altogether.

Gregory wasn’t an American pure-breed as evident in his looks; his father was presumed to be the American and the mother Australian.

I guess I didn't understand what was the reason why this information is pertinent. Why was it so important for the reader to know this. BTW, which accent did Gregory have American or Australian? Also, I am confused about why it was evident from his look that he was not a pure breed American. Was his mom Australian aboriginal? I was trying to imagine this and met with some lack of info. So he had the picture of his parents. Ok. Still, you know something that I don't.

Anyhow cool! Now, your overall thinking pattern is much clearer to me. I feel like we've spent some time together talking about the future. )))

Good luck with the contest!

I think I should work on that part still unclear. Thanks for voicing out your opinion @mgaft1