[Short Story] - Stalker

in #tellastorytome6 years ago (edited)


Designed by Rawpixel.com


The following story is an entry to @calluna's contest Tell a story to me.


Stalker


I checked my wristwatch for the second time the same minute. 6:07 a.m.

I was starting to get worried because the light in Alice’s bedroom still hadn’t lit up–she woke up at 6 o’clock sharp every day, went to the bathroom, brushed her teeth, then made her way to the kitchen to put up the kettle for tea, and made herself a simple breakfast waiting for the water to boil. She was supposed to have two eggs and a slice of bread that day, like she did every Thursday, but if she wouldn’t wake up in the next three minutes, she would run out of time to prepare it.

I was starting to get worried. She never slept in, and never slept through her alarms, which I could most definitely hear going off through the window. It also wasn’t in her nature to leave the house once she’s showered and went to bed, even if anyone would’ve called her, so I was very doubtful of her leaving in the time I was gone. I was certain she had to be inside the house.

The more time passed, the more my thoughts went rampart with all the horrid ideas. My heart was pumping mad with adrenaline and at some point I just couldn’t take the pressure anymore. I had to do something. I had to at least try and wake her up.

I revealed myself from behind a tree and walked up all the way under her window. I wanted to call out her name at first, or just shout a random word very loudly, but figured it would alert the neighbors, too, and I couldn’t explain why I was shouting, let alone why I was there. Instead, I crouched down and picked some pebbles from the floor. I made sure I was out of sight of all her neighbors and started throwing them, one by one, into her bedroom window.

There was no sound from inside, no one opening the window to check what was going on. I must’ve thrown at least fifteen before frantically checking the time again.

I wasn’t afraid she’d miss her breakfast anymore, or that she’d miss out on her cup of tea, I was afraid for her wellbeing. For her life.

In panic, I ran over to the front door and rang the bell without even thinking of the possible consequences that might have. I knew I should’ve ran away after ringing, like the children do, but for some reason I didn’t budge, only kept on ringing.

A solid minute passed and I could feel the little droplets of sweat on my forehead combine together and slowly drift down to the tip of my nose as one big drop. High on adrenaline, instead of bailing out and anonymously calling the police, I concluded it was a good idea to break in through the open window in the kitchen.

I looked around, made sure nobody was around, then sprinted and mounted the wall just high enough to reach the window ledge. I pulled myself up and found myself in a very strictly organized, white-toned kitchen, just as was to be expected of her. As distracted as I was by all of her things I couldn’t see from outside and wanted to study in detail, I had to make my way to her bedroom as fast as possible.

I rushed through the door and found her in bed, lying motionless under the covers. I could feel my heart beat between my ears as I slowly approached her. Every moment was as exciting as it was horrid. I had never been that close to her before.

It didn’t take long for me to get close enough to see she was breathing. I also noticed the reason she had slept through all her alarms and door ringing. She was wearing ear plugs.

I knew I had to leave the room, and her house, the moment I found out she was okay, but the lust for her very presence drew me ever nearer, until I could practically feel her breath on my skin. I bent over her, pretending to caress her hair, when she suddenly woke up and started screaming like mad.

She and I both panicked, and I ran down the stairs and out of the house as fast as I could, but the damage had already been done. She had recognized me. We worked at the same company, only different offices, and also took coffee at the same place.

I nearly had a car accident on my way home, then locked the doors and nervously walked up and down my living room, trying to come up with a solution, a good alibi, or a good reason for why I was there.

It seemed like not even a single minute passed when I heard the knock on my door.

I hadn’t come up with anything useful, my clothes were drenched in my own sweat, and my hands were shaking with adrenaline. Everything about me called out guilty.

I knew running away wasn’t an option, they knew everything about me. I decided to open the door, and without even saying a single word, they jumped me and pinned me to the ground as if I were armed to my teeth.

I’ve been read my rights, told to be quiet, and brought to the station.

Together with my lawyer we came up with a good story and managed to strike a deal for only two years prison.

Something about the fire I saw in Alice that night made me want her even more, and I cannot wait to pay her a visit again.

Only next time I’ll make sure she cannot scream.

Liked what you read and want more?
Want access to exclusive stories?
Or maybe just want to support me as an author?

I present you with my first published collection of 33 morbid stories!


Some stories are exclusive to the collection and some are freely available on the STEEM blockchain. The latter were largely overhauled before publishing, so you're in for a treat even if (you believe) you've read them before.


Short stories I have written so far:

Want such a table for your own work? Or even make it better? Learn how to do it here.

Sort:  

The perspective is so well established in the first few lines, even without the title it is obvious that it's someone watching when they shouldn't be without you needing to state that. The early twist, from a more sinister watching, to a tender concern pulls the reader in, feeling that with him. The reader is left just as anxious as to what he may find inside. Then the sudden conflict of emotions upon seeing her, getting closer, already seized by the compulsion and unable to stop, brings the sinister element back. There is such a beauty swing back and forth like this throughout, instead of trying to walk the line, this alternates between almost sweet and realistically scary. It's impossible not to get caught up in his fear and panic as she wakes, and I found myself really hoped it was her knocking on his door, but the ending is even better, swinging full back to creepy as now, he has the time to plan that next time.

The winners of round 11 have been announced and round 12 is out - very much hope you will be back to thrill me with another entry <3

Thank you so very much for this comment!
And yes, plenty of time to come up with his next step ;)

See what you did there. Great entry for a scary story.

;)
Thanks! Glad to hear you liked it! ^^