The Liquid Border - Tell A Story To Me

in #tellastorytome5 years ago (edited)

The Liquid Border.jpeg


"Hey! There is anyone out there?"

"Yup! Can you feel it too?"

"Something has changed... I feel a tremor, a shock, a strange excitement. Something is no longer the same as before, outside our protective shell."

"Speaking of spores... is it normal that it's cooler? Indeed, moist. And softer! Help! What happens?"

"Oh, joy! Our time has finally come! After aeons of exhausting waiting, we are blessed by the salvific arrival of the precious watery nectar!"

"Eh? Um… ok, as you say. Here, however, everything is flaking, I can't stand inside anymore... I'm afraid... here it is, the spore is broken."

"We do not let fear grip us, we have survived the inclement weather of our wicked step-mother nature precisely to prepare us for an event of this kind."

"Instead of talking so much, look! It’s gorgeous! How big and clear!"

"Ah, to finally be able to loosen the limbs, no longer forced by the narrow space! Ah, to be able to taste the copious oxygen dissolved in the iridescent and silvery expanse! Ah, the colors that tickle eyes too accustomed to the darkness!"

"So this is the famous water? Gorgeous! You can swim in it in any direction!"

"Admire our world, the one for which the inscrutable creative hand has shaped us..."

"Oops! Something just swam in my mouth and I ate it. Delicious!"

"...the long wait, patience refined by use, finally rewarded by the preciousness of the changing liquid shine..."

"Shut up a little and eat! These little things come out from all sides, you're losing them."

"Oh! Scrumptious! The circle of life resumes, they must have come out of spores waiting for water just like us. Their short life is a source of energy and pleasure for us, fate is bizarre."

"Bleah! Don't eat those bits of not swimming stuff massed down, they're very hard and don't taste any good."




"Look, but... we've been swimming around here for a while. Where do you think water ends?"

"I notice that the impulse to discover also lies in your soul, that’s honorable! We were not made to live as brutes, but to follow virtue and knowledge. Now that the hunger of the body is satisfied, that of the spirit urges us to experience the limits of our knowledge."

"As you said. Moreover, by now the little things to eat are almost finished. There are some things that swim above the ceiling, I've tried but that's not water. It's lighter and more transparent, I can't swim in it. They do, though. They rest on the ceiling and lay eggs. I assume we could continue eating those if we don't move."

"Now that you have made the seed of curiosity germinate in my soul, I cannot bear to remain idle. Come on, let's swim orienting ourselves with the bright light that embraces us from above. Let's push the boundaries of the known world!"

"Uh! Oh! We can’t pass. So many of those hard things we don't eat, they're higher than the ceiling. So the world ends here?"

"It would be a cruel mockery of fate, if that were the case. What is the point of having such an excellent mind if we had no goals to overcome? I believe that by applying a fair amount of pressure at this point, we could move the obstacle..."

"Careful! All is collapsing!"

"No fear, my impulsive companion, we are unharmed! Here, the turbidity is settling already, revealing to our eyes what lies beyond the temporary border... oooh, flabbergasting!"

"Wow! Water is really everywhere! I don't see the end!"

"What a vastness! And what unfathomable depth! One feels annihilated in front of the majesty of the cosmos! With immense emotion I am going to take this small step in our new..."

"Watch out!"

CHOMP!



"Holy crap! What was that? Huge! Fuck! Chatterbox is gone... no fucking way I’ll go out there, I prefer to stay here in the shallows forever. Too bad, I will have to look for another of my kin. My eggs won't fertilize themselves."



This is my entry for Tell A Story To Me contest, run by @calluna for @bananafish.

The photo belongs to me.


Mizu_no_Oto_banner_for_everyone.png

Follow the Bananafish, follow its trail!

banner-divisorio_2.jpg

Sort:  

This is so funny. I love it! epic and comedic at the same time. You have created an analogy for the journey of life on earth. Absolutely wonderful, @marcoriccardi.

That's the deal. Have fun :)

Thank you @agmoore! I missed writing so much, this prompt has been the right stimulus to finally return to give vent to my imagination

Ahhh this is such a wonderful idea! I was hoping for something from another perspective, but this, this is just so brilliant, you fully commit, and it works so wonderfully, and yet telling it entirely through the dialogue of two characters. It isn;t an easy thing to attempt and you pull it off so well. It creates this sense of intrigue and mystery, like, what is going on! What are these things inside a protective shell, it is enthralling the way it slowly unravels as a two little fishes, hatching and growing up, the mad assault of swimming through your food, you have so many wonderful details. I sincerely love it! The way you tell this is so entertaining, and then the sense of humor you weave between the two characters, it just makes it, along with that ending! Ahhh! This is just so much fun, and I really love the style it’s written in, oh I am so glad this one hooked you! ;)

Thank you! The only greater pleasure than having written this story is to see that someone else had a great time reading it.

This was so much fun to read and I can tell you enjoyed yourself writing it too!

"Oops! Something just swam in my mouth and I ate it. Delicious!"

HA! Not what is usually said when something swims into a mouth! ;^)

OOF that chomp! Such is how life goes.

But if you were some sort of benthic fish or crustacean... maybe you could say it!

I love this one. It has such a fantastic slow burn reveal of the full picture and a great use of humor.

Thank you very much! I had a lot of fun writing it ;)

Hahaha... Very funny, @marcoriccardi. Penetrating the unfathomable creation also requires some common sense.

As always, I had great fun writing... the fun I managed to transmit to you it's a value added!

Yes, stay in the shallow waters where one can grow and prosper.

Your last line was funny.

Fly down, grab the low hanging fruit and survive...ahahah!