The Story of Putra Mosque in Putrajaya, Malaysia

in #tepchallenge6 years ago (edited)

The Story of Putra Mosque in Putrajaya, Malaysia

Read "The Story of Putra Mosque in Putrajaya, Malaysia" on TravelFeed.io for the best experience


Most tourists visiting Kuala Lumpur have never heard of Putrajaya, the city that is the seat of the Malaysian government. It is a really weird place, but certainly worth a visit: The planned city was built from scratch during the 1990s Asian financial boom to serve as Malaysia's new seat of government.

01-jpp-20161011-2.jpg
18mm, f8, 1/60; Click on image to enlarge

With "jaya" meaning perfection, the architects had the highest possible plans for Malaysia's most prestigious project including various themed green spaces, artificial lakes, and a monorail. When the Asian financial crisis hit, the planners had to take a step back and many projects have never been completed. However, in 1999 the Malaysian government moved from Kuala Lumpur to Putrajaya.

01-jpp-20161011.jpg
22mm, f11, 1/500; Click on image to enlarge

Putrajaya was originally planned to provide a living space to 300,000 residents at the beginning of this millennium, but even with heavy subsidies for government workers, the population still is less than 100,000.

The pink Putra Mosque that can accommodate up to 15,000 people was almost the only place in the entire city where I met other people; the rest of the modern and clean city seemed like a ghost town.
The building with the green roof you can spot in the background is not another mosque, but the seat of the Malaysian prime minister.

01-jpp-20161011-3.jpg
35mm, f11, 1/250; Click on image to enlarge

I hope you enjoyed this view into Putrajaya and the Putra Mosque.

Camera Gear

The camera I used to capture this photo is a Sony A37 (APS-C) with a Sony DT 18-135 mm F3,5–5,6 SAM lens.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.

Sort:  

Beautiful mosque. I did visit the National Mosque of Malaysia when I was in Kuala Lumpur, but I have not been to Putrajaya.

I went to the national mosque in KL as well, but the one in Putrajaya is quite different!

OMG! Why haven't I seen that pink mosque before?! You're right that most people wouldn't have heard about this place even though it's seemingly an important place since the government reside there. This is one reason I'm loving Steemit so much...in the past one month that I've been on the platform, I've seen or read about so many extraordinary, unheard of places. The first picture with the beautiful mosque and the clouds looks gorgeous!

Thanks :) That's what I love about Steemit too, discovering interesting content has never been easier!

Adding it to our list!!! Looks amazing!

It was such an interesting place to visit, might have changed a lot - if you visit let me know if it's still somewhat of a ghost town!

I've think I've read about this place before. How it is a modern ghost town. Looks like it would be worth a visit though for anyone visiting Malaysia!

Certainly! And it really has something of a modern ghost town.. Really strange place!

Sometimes you just wonder why people build these ghosts towns. Its like they have some sort of massive ego !

Well, that might be the reason.. This place is so strange, couldn't think of any other reason to build something like that other than in an attempt to show off.

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

Cool, thanks for including me :) I always enjoy reading your featured travel posts!

Very nice pictures once again. I like the last one with the water reflection very much. I would like to visit malaysia some time soon, but i think this won't happen because it is so far away and i haven't even seen so many beautiful places in Europe.

Thanks for your comment! I agree, there is so much to see in Europe, but I also love travelling to more exotic places. Experiencing a totally different culture is so exciting!
The reflection in the last photo that looks like water is actually the shiny floor - incredible, isn't it?

Thanks for the informative and interesting post.

I visited KL in 2001, and have also visited several other places in the country since then, but I never even heard about Putrajaya.

Great photos, too!

Thanks for your comment! Most people have never heard about Putrajaya; I was lucky to have read about it in a travel blog. It certainly is a fascinating place to visit!

Great post as usual, I'm proud being your friend (even though you suck so hard at gaming, but maybe that's part of the plan...)

No.. that's impossible.. you couldn't possibly know about my evil masterplan to take over the world by winning in Fortnite without firing a shot? :D

Great entry again and the more words the merrier!

Glad to hear I am not disqualified for using too many words :D Happy to watch your challenge grow!

It's great to have more details, I love reading about new destinations to visit. Bangkok also has several projects that are unfinished, which were also victims of the financial crisis around that time too.

thanks for recommending this place, and sharing its story. Won't forget when I'm in Malaysia!

Happy you liked my post; enjoy visiting this place! It's certainly a super-interesting experience :D

indeed when i was there i did not visit, looks good tho.
thanks for sharing

Thanks for your comment :) Loved your post about travel destinations for animals!

I never heard about that city indeed, although I was in KL 🙈 But it looks pretty interesting! Great shots by the way! ☺

Thank you! I think nearly everybody misses this place when visiting KL! :D I only knew about it because I had read a post in some travel blog about it

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jpphotography
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-story-of-putra-mosque-in-putrajaya-malaysia


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 6 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jpphotography from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.