You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Wild World of EV Ownership

in #teslalast year

I'm trying to figure out if the discrepancy between the advertised per kWh price on these public chargers isn't being advertised correctly or if it's actually energy loss. I'm kind of leaning towards the former but won't know for sure until I can do a full charge.

Tesla has said that they'll recycle close to 100% of the materials from spent batteries to make new battery cells. I think they haven't had a chance to implement this yet because most of the battery packs they've made are still in use. I think are actively planning the recycling program now though to get ahead of the day when the packs are dead. I'd love to see a replaceable battery cartridge that could just quickly slide in and out.

Sort:  

. I'd love to see a replaceable battery cartridge that could just quickly slide in and out.

If the electric car industry could standardize, swappable battery packs could replace gas at "Fueling Stations". Lots of changes would be required, but it is definitely possible..--- just like Propane tanks.