You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thailand authorities attempting to woo Chinese tourists - Too little, too late

in #thailand5 years ago

I feel like the generally accepted theft turned into greed because it was so excepted by the victims, even though they really didn't have a choice. Well, they could of turned around and headed back to China.. But we all know that is harder and not worth the headache. Just pay the 1000B it's easier. I see this in the many places we have traveled over the years. Maybe not this blatant or costly, but definitely present and acting as a sort of side hustle for someone. Heck, it even happens in restaurants in my opinion.. After I order the (whatever) and it comes.. I ask for a sauce and bam.. that'll be $1.00. What am I going to do? send my (whatever) back now that my mouth is watering and its sitting right here in front of me.. Nope.. I'll pay the 1000% marked up cost for the stupid sauce or whatever. Heck, sometimes I don't realize it till after the bill comes. We have also been put in this position when we are outside of the "Main" tourist areas. We pay a fee for lets say security (Hey I'll watch your car or golf cart for this much so no one steals it) What am I going to say? NO? No way.. I pay it otherwise this guy is going to hustle it out of me one way or another. As long as the benefit out weighs the corruption, people will pay. When they don't, then obviously something else has gone wrong. They need to find out what, fix it, then those tourists will return. Most likely "smile" as they reach into their wallets. hahaha.. Really though.. I don't think it's ever too late, it will just take too dang long to get them back (and obviously they would have to spend some of that stolen Baht to get them back).

You know what I always say @gooddream.. Don't get greedy, and most certainly don't get violent. Just smile, put your hand out and take what they give you.

hehe.. Bjork was right about Human Behavior...

If you ever get close to a human
And human behavior
Be ready, be ready to get confused
There's definitely, definitely, definitely no logic
To human behavior
But yet so, yet so irresistible

Sort:  

what an amazing reply. well done pal... i agree with pretty much everything you wrote there especially the lyrics from pretty much the only Bjork song that i think is bearable to the ears.

Haha. Only song I really know of hers. She has a weird voice for sure.