You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Thailand the Ultimate Expat Destination?

in #thailand6 years ago

Interesting take. No doubt that Thailand's weather is way better than the one in Canada, Poland or Ireland where I had a chance to live. Should I have a choice though, I'd still say that mediterranean weather would be more pleasant to live.

Overall I've spent in Thailand around two years, but never had a feeling it's a never-ending holiday. It could be with a passive income or after winning a lottery, but those who have to work for their money won't agree I guess. Locals are another story though - when you manage them, they seem to be on permanent holidays ;-).

Spot on when it comes to cost of living especially in Bangkok and some touristy areas. While it's possible to live for around $1,000, it's also possible to spend $10,000 per month. It all depends what are you into.

Thai people are nice and smiley, but it's good to remember that smile expresses all kinds of emotions here. I find people in Cambodia friendlier than here with better understanding of foreign languages (English, French). Myanmar people are way friendlier than Thai...

I guess it all depends on individual's perspective, where else did you live and for how long. I'm glad you put a question mark at the end of your title. Statement without comparison to other countries in the region would have been pretty bold. ;-)

Good piece of writing though. Keep it up!

Sort:  

Haha, great comment, thanks! I like the fact that you mentioned Thai people being on permanent holidays, I actually wanted to write about this! Call me an ignorant but I wouldn't consider any other countries except Japan. :)

Ignorant! ;-)

Seriously though all of the places we talk about have their pros & cons. So be careful with words like "ultimate" please or I'll smash your pink heart-shaped glasses ;-).

Clickbait, lol.