A Quick Thanksgiving Follow Up To Fear and Loathing in Buffalo NY

in #thanksgiving5 months ago (edited)

The day before Thanksgiving I posted about a supposed terror attack that was happening less than 20 minutes from my house. I was supposed to be getting ready for Thanksgiving festivities at the house, but instead sat glued to the television as something unfolded? We're still not sure what. I also posted some pix of my Thanksgiving Day bird being prepared and I wanted to post the finished product. Here's the link to the original post:

https://peakd.com/thanksgiving/@the-bitcoin-dood/fear-and-loathing-in-buffalo-ny-terrorism-and-turkey-day

More on the supposed terror attack shortly. Thanksgiving went off without a hitch. For the most part it was a nice day. We cooked a feast, ate food, and watched football on TV. A few of us had a few drinks. Some more than others. 🤣 Thanks to my cousin for snapping this picture. I forgot to take a pic.

turkey.jpg

So here's the finished product. I think this was a 24 lb turkey. I cooked it at 315°F for about 6 hours. The broth made awesome gravy! It fed 7 people who all seemed to enjoy the meal and there are plenty of leftovers. I received many compliments on the bird.

Meanwhile back at the supposed terror attack.

So right from the start something felt off. My mother yelled upstairs to my apartment and said, "They just blew up the Rainbow Bridge."

I then quickly replied, "It's gone?"

"Oh no, there's just a fire and a couple people died" came the reply.

My mom's in her late 80s so I just sort of shrugged my shoulders and said, "OK, I'll turn on the TV and see what's going on."

Sure enough there was a fire on the bridge. Close to every federal agency showed up to investigate. Many news agencies were completely blowing it out of proportion claiming a car full of explosives blew up on the Rainbow Bridge.

From the start, it felt like something wasn't right. Like this wasn't what they were claiming it to be. It seemed weird that a car full of explosives would only cause what appeared to be on my TV a minor fire. I mean, there's probably no such thing as a minor fire, but this didn't scream devastation or disaster at all!

After a lot of hullabaloo, closing down bridge traffic in and out of Canada on ALL 3 BRIDGES, closing the airports, and sending a security alert THROUGHOUT THE ENTIRE WORLD. The news suddenly began backtracking as they claimed, they didn't know what was going and there were no explosives found....

How bizarre! We went from a car packed with explosives, to no, sorry, just kidding. Then to it looks like a reckless driver.

Now here's something else I found bizarre... The follow up news story on Reuters doesn't really say anything. This is the most bizarre story I've seen for a reporting of this magnitude. I mean this story spread around the world in what seemed like minutes.

Screenshot 2023-11-24 120454.png

Nothing about who was driving, what happened. Just a generic follow up like no big deal. Nothing to see here people, move along.

The media causes a NATIONAL PANIC on the busiest travel day of the year and we get a one paragraph follow up like this.

So far though, my speculation seems like the most likely. Rich guy driving to fast and lost control of his car. Local news is only saying a "Grand Island business man" lost control of his car after reckless driving.

Grand Island is a small Island between Buffalo and Niagara Falls with a wealthy and affluent population.

Regardless, I guess my point to all this is what's happening to journalism in this country. Our news outlets have gone from reporting real news to speculation and opinion based editorial. Nobody does investigative journalism these days and the people that do have a VERY hard time getting their stories published if it goes against the mainstream narrative. That never used to be the case. I can't believe a story of this size gets a follow up this small and this vague.

Just saying... The older I get the stranger things get in this country!

IDK, regardless, it was a nice Thanksgiving with good food and drink despite all the drama of the day before.

Sort:  

Such delicious food tastes better whenever it is prepared at home and time passes better when friends are invited.

Food, friends, and family are always a great combination! Cheers!

Thanks for sharing!

Welcome