For those wondering that they can't access their owner-key anymore in permissions.

in #the-hack8 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

TL;DR: This is primarly to let you know that it's normal that you can't access your active/owner keys in the permissions settings, so don't panic, yet!

EDIT: I just found this POST: Full list of SteemIt hacked accounts. Check for yours.


Old Post for reference:

If you are afraid that

maybe this post can help you.

Verify your secret keys


I was unsure if I was affected by the hack and I still used password authentication, so all my keys were at risk.

I checked my permissions page and found that I couldn't login/show my owner and active key anymore, so I thought maybe someone has taken/changed it.

Luckily I have steemd node running and could look into the cli_wallet and found the function:

locked >>> get_private_key_from_password imp3 owner my_password
[
  "STM6pjyaWYoRriy5UyxWWERudmesz3WTuUt2t9mKM1UFknsWqQaFB",
  "5...privatekey"
]

This yielded the correct public key for me (the same that you see in the permissions tab) and therefore also the correct privatekey. So everything is fine and I am not compromised.

So if you are unsure if you were hacked or not and have access to a cli wallet on a trusted host you can check it.

If you don't have a trusted node you are pretty much out of luck for verify that everything is fine.

Security notice


don't give your password to anyone and don't use cli_wallet with an untrusted node! Really, I mean it.

Sort:  

Excuse me hope you dont mine, what is cli wallet and what is trusted host. Hope my question is not stupid enough

Hey, no worries, there are no stupid questions :)

cli_wallet is a command line tool for working with the blockchain and accessing account information. It is included here: https://github.com/steemit/steem
There is also a post explaining how to make it work for windows, this is here: https://steemit.com/steem/@tuck-fheman/how-to-mine-steem-in-windows

A trusted host is a system with steemd running by a person that you trust. With that I mean, the database (the blockchain) is running on a peer2peer network and a malicious peer could read your password and steal your account.
When you have a node running on your local machine would be trustworthy...for you at least ;)

Hope I could help you.

Thanks man, I will look into it. I still have so many questions about steemit especially with the wallet. I dont understand how the wallet works and how to make it work. How to check my earnings? How the payout goes, is it automatic or I need to generate it by myself?

Thank you for useful information.
Is it still relevant that we cannot login with owner keys?
(you may also see my full question here: https://steemit.com/question/@aleksei-filonov/help-still-cannot-login-with-master-password)

hey, yes, it's still normal that you can't see/set your owner key in the web interface. I think they first want to roll out account recovery systems before we can manage owner key in the webui again.