You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The 12 Days of VYB (kind of, I was slow to this idea)

in #the12daysofvyb2 years ago (edited)

It's funny. @frot stopped by to call me a prick and, I just kinda laughed. It's whatever.

Lol, I was actually thinking about that yesterday. www.proofofbrain.io has an NFT marketplace now and I was going to mint the meme I sent to you two in that comment thread, although I hesitated because of copyright and permission.

I noticed the one concern here about 'big accounts' receiving this prize thing.

Yeah, that doesn't phase me one bit, lol. Makes more sense that some bigger accounts have finessed themselves and their content style, and that catches my eye. Subjectivity in content and impression is something I'm very comfortable with from grading posts in the #pob-wotw. I'm pretty happy with my choices, they're all interesting characters, yourself included.

If I do it, it won't be a traditional promo. Did some weird shit back in the day for them.

Even better, traditional has its moments. I personally much prefer the weird shit. Speaking of #pob-wotw above, I think you may like how we did the Bizarre WOTW.

Other than that, that thumbnail is actually a riddle. It says 'read between the lines'. But I don't mind if you're not reading it. I don't expect everyone to be glued to my stuff.

Ahhhh! I like it. It wasn't long ago that someone called me enigmatic. Here, I'll pass on the torch! 🕯️

Sort:  

I like the concept of the Bizarre thing. Don't normally join in on the festivities though. I just stick to my brand. Even comedy group wants me to write it's an entry in the headline, as a rule for all entries. Of course I won't do that, so I can't play, but I can still support it in other ways. Just have to get off my ass and actually post. Don't really care about winning prizes or intentionally disqualifying myself. Last time I won a contest it was because I made this:

Then I just gave the prize away to some noob and they didn't even notice or say thanks. But it's all good.

😂😂 this frog has popped up in my mind a couple of times over the weekend. It's quality. Have you started up with the whole NFT thing yet? I'm being lazy really, I should check NFTShoroom to see if you have, lol.

Then I just gave the prize away to some noob and they didn't even notice or say thanks. But it's all good.

That's it, sprinkle and glide. Never know when your gesture will inspire someone to do something great.


I almost forgot to add this, I think it's on point with your mention of not adding a specific title because the contest says so (although we never did say so in #pob-wotw, some people do it for their own content categorization which is understandable).

thumbnailpresentation.gif

As you can see, I have my own personal tastes when it comes to post titles, thumbnails, taglines, etc. Highly subjective of course, but that's where the magic is anyway.

The NFT thing is cool but I haven't jumped in. Not a fan of how it's priced in HIVE, locally, so that holds me back a bit. No control of the profit margin. 1000 HIVE could be worth $1300 one day, $700 the next and I rip myself off, $2000 another day and I rip them off. Imagine loading up with 100 NFTs then having to adjust prices daily... that's just not how you do business.

And yes, since I'd be focused on creating something entertaining, it has the chance to be shared on social media, potentially go viral, and not one human on the outside would be able to understand why there's a weird line about a contest. That's the main deterrent. Outside eyes don't speak the language.

No control of the profit margin. 1000 HIVE could be worth $1300 one day, $700 the next and I rip myself off, $2000 another day and I rip them off. Imagine loading up with 100 NFTs then having to adjust prices daily... that's just not how you do business.

Yeah... that is bound to drive folk up the wall. Maybe I'm not cut out for this crypto game, lol. I am yet to see the losses in that light, would rather stay in the here and now. Started putting my stuff on the POB NFT marketplace now instead of NFTShowroom (wasn't having much luck over there although that's likely because of the people I speak with) and have been following along with @pobscholarship to try and help get people minting (you sprung to mind!).

I think quite a few overlooked that part. Spend the funds minting, filling those shelves. But there's no guarantee of a sale. That could happen months even years down the road. Then you have all this merchandise with prices that only made sense on day one. The stablecoin HBD is the solution to all this.

I've been watching this whole NFT thing closely. You kinda took a dump on the business minds here recently, which I don't take personally, but business is one of my passions, it's part of what makes me, me. Everyone has their strengths and weaknesses, so some things get overlooked. Developers are great at what they do, spending all that time and energy, but then their product sits vacant because maybe they're not a people person and have difficulties getting the word out. That's why it's good to have a community with all walks of life. Always someone there to pick up the slack.

Personally I'm still not quite ready to start selling or even promoting NFTs, though I do point people in the right direction from time to time.

(wasn't having much luck over there although that's likely because of the people I speak with)

What do you mean by that?

The stablecoin HBD is the solution to all this.

Definitely keen to see how it develops. The part of my brain that is business orientated can see the merit in the push towards stronger stability of the HBD, although it's not something I actively follow with much interest. The elements of Hive like account-level censorship resistance and speedy transactions are something I follow along with and understand to a greater degree.

You kinda took a dump on the business minds here recently, which I don't take personally, but business is one of my passions, it's part of what makes me, me.

I'm glad you didn't take it personally, kind of defeats the point when it is taken that way. I'm alright with judgement and being disliked for my opinion anyway, so it wouldn't have mattered much, but nice to know that you took it on board as it was intended (as food for thought from a 9 am "mind-dump"). Luckily people in business have thick skin, right?

(wasn't having much luck over there although that's likely because of the people I speak with)

What do you mean by that?

I'm naively and comfortably focused on Layer 2 (POB and VYB specifically, but not limited to). I have been actively supporting POB since 2-3 weeks into its creation, I consciously made the decision to put my energy and focus into that (which did mean that I had to limit my scope of layer 1 and alllll the other projects/posts/etc that comes with). So my circle of friends & influence (because that's what it is in business technical terms if looking at it with those spectacles) is fairly limited. If I was more business orientated and cared more for the moola, I'd replicate a similar model as some of the community leaders/influencers on HIVE (L1).

Specifically, once the audience is there, put out relevant art that is appreciated by the community and then rake in the big bucks (nothing against this mind, supply and demand is an integral part of the ecosystem). A good example is @thebeardflex and his artwork. Not to say this is a "bad thing" to do by any means, it's back to that business/personal connection and where each person stands with that internally.

Yes the account being etched in stone is fabulous, because it's tied to a 'following' (a term I don't like much but whatever) and the following in this context is synonymous with 'market'. Being able to take that market around with you wherever you go is jizz in your pants level awesomeness.

Luckily people in business have thick skin, right?

I'm human before businessman. Just a regular dude. But one of the first things I ever told you after your shady comment (which I still chuckle about to this day) is I stopped giving a crap what people think of me. Especially if it's just some lunchroom gossip and they've never actually taken the time to come talk with me. There's always those folks in this world that turn their noses up and I just think yeah, any higher and you'll fall on your ass.

In general, simply socializing and learning any chance I get. In general, I'm not really interested in crypto. Just as you folks focus on building a platform for a community, I focused on building my platform. All the tools were there, I just had to learn how to operate them. We own our account and our content right? So I don't need to tie myself to any one community or tribe or anything like that. I don't even talk to people off the platform. 99.9% of all my communication with this entire Hive thing and all the people I've met, is on chain, for all to see. No walls here. I'm all over the place. Talk to anyone. Social circles are natural but they also put folks at odds with one another. Always looking over the fence, not happy with what the neighbors are doing. I just walk through the fence.

Establishing a fanbase is totally normal. But look at a Youtube video comment section. People are just talking to a screen. What I love about this platform is being hands on with the community surrounding my work. All those people that come visit. I actually know them and if I don't, I get to know them. Drives me nuts if I go visit someone and they respond with, "Thanks for the comment." And then they wonder why it gets so quiet. That's what happens when you give people the cold shoulder.

As it all stands now it is kind of like a small town, with neighborhoods. So I get what you mean now. It's easy to feel out of place sometimes. And we can't be everywhere all at once either.

L2 communities and tokens. You know what those need? Exclusive content and not curators, but 'consumers' willing to stake and tip. Basically buyers for the content. Without that all you folks have is money out the door, and that'll never change.