I Have an Inner Three-Year-Old - Not Haiku This Time, But Still Poetry

Polish_20210223_145550571  - I have an inner three-year-old.jpg

This will be a shorter post than usual, mostly because it is already 1:25 AM as I begin writing, but after an unexpected several day pause, I am back, and will be back to creating daily haiku posts.

The short version is that Marek came home from the road, and invariably every time he does so it derails me, simply because he is home so seldom, and so there are always a thousand things that need doing and nowhere near enough time to accomplish it all.

Then again, both he and I want him home full time, so it's all more than worthwhile, even if my productivity temporarily takes a major hit.

A lot of my poems come to me soon after awakening, and this was one of them, which in itself made me laugh, since my sleep patterns have recently (and for a long while) been completely out of whack.

I've long been a night person, although I actually started out as a little kid awakening with the chickens, as my mom put it, before she and my dad literally trained me to stay up late and sleep in, since my dad played as a jazz pianist in clubs at night, and needless to say wasn't thrilled at having his young daughter jumping on him to awaken him at 6 AM, as he usually got home well after 2 AM.

But, for a three- or four-year period during my last marriage, my then-husband and I started getting up before dawn, and walking through our sleeping neighborhood of Seminole, Florida; which ultimately we both enjoyed, for the quiet, the wildlife we heard and saw at no other time, and the brainstorming that we were able to do during our pre-dawn walks.

And, even though I prefer living a night owl lifestyle, I've always been willing and able to get up early for my favorite activities, especially sailing and SCUBA diving.

We did a LOT of night sailing, including very early morning sailing, which in the Tampa Bay area at least, means steadier and cooler breezes, and an absolutely lovely time to sail.

Not to mention seeing a lot of local wildlife, and a huge number of baby sharks out and about, as the shallows of Tampa Bay are a major shark nursery for a number of species, including lemon sharks, bonnetheads (a small variety of hammerhead sharks), great hammerheads, and a number of other species.

But in recent years, it has come to my attention that a large part of my ongoing issues with insomnia are directly related to my largely reversed circadian rhythm, which also often exacerbates heart rhythm, chronic inflammation, and many other ongoing and chronic health issues.

As a result, I have decided (yet again) to try to correct my circadian rhythm, to go to bed at a far more reasonable hour, and to get up early enough to actually feed and water our chickens and ducks in the mornings, rather than the mid- to late-afternoons.

Which, naturally, brings out the skeptic in my husband, who knows me well, and shares my night-owl personality. But, in addition, who also understands that we would BOTH be healthier if we actually followed our circadian rhythm, rather than constantly trying to buck millions of years of evolution.

Ah, the joys of being human.

I have been forced into more normal circadian rhythms at times, particularly through the various outside jobs that I've held, but left to my own devices, I've always drifted back into my night owl ways.

My hope is to this time actually train my body and mind to prefer getting up early, and especially going to bed early, as my inner three-year-old has always rebelled especially at going to bed, as she is afraid of missing something. ;-)

In any case, the goal is there, and now out there in fact, having now been made public. No goal is accomplished without taking the first step. Wish me luck.

My thanks to everyone still kicking around on the Hive blockchain, take care of yourselves and each other, and be safe out there.

I love you all.

The poem is mine, and the photograph is of the rose bush that I planted outside our bedroom window in 2012, shortly after we moved to our place in Tennessee.

#earthtribe #tribevibes #naturalmedicine #tribegloballove #poetsunited #isleofwrite #tarc #yah #ecotrain #smg #ghsc #spunkeemonkee #thirtydayhaikuchallenge #teamgood #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #womenofsteemit #steemusa #qurator #music #rock #steemitbasicincome #bethechange #chooselove #photography #beauty #love #culture #peacemaking #peacemaker #friendship, #warmth #self-respect #respect #allowing #animals #community #unity #love #loss #mourning

@edxserverus_5 - TSU Banner.png

SubscriptionPackOwner.png

ecotrain.png

TribeGlobalLove Banner.png

CommunityIIDiscord