Cut of the week #5 by @privat. Featuring three new Steem rappers and more!

in #thecut6 years ago (edited)

Todays features: @wolfnworbeikood, @jaguarpawmu and @scottychams


Another week passed in #thecut, the unofficial hip hop community here and my favorite tag on Steemit! I’m writing these weekly summaries of what I’ve spotted in the cut as it’s still pretty hard to get a good grip of everything going on. I would love to see more people doing something similar from their perspectives to help spread what they like! For some more information what the initial purpose of the tag(#thecut) was or to add ideas for this community just click the picture below.

This week I want to feature three fresh rappers on Steemit, or at least to me! But first I promised to feature a Steem collaboration in a new segment, I’ll just call it “Collaboration of the week” to keep it boring and informal. And after that, as usual, I’ll share the number one rap that I enjoyed the most this week. Feel free to share what posts would have taken these spots in your list in the comments if you disagree, I can’t keep track of everything!

For regular readers, sorry for being a day late this time. I really don’t want to post anything here out of stress to keep the quality as high as I can. Since I’m getting paid to feature others work in these I’ll always try my best to make this letter as useful as possible AND I’m already thinking of how I want to give some of the SBD back to the community.

Collaboration of the week:

'Put your steem in tha air'! [ ILL MOOT ] 白蚁 (Wave it around like you just dont ...scare). ft. @vachemorte @scribblingwilly

Three of my favorite Steemians in one post: @termitemusic, @vachemorte and @scribblingwilly!! In this episode 30 of Illmoot by Termite he decided to “show some respect to(or mash the f**k outta) some music from my steemit cryptocrew”. This is an almost 42 minutes long live jam so just lean back and enjoy it like I have twice now!

Rap of the week:

Ok @jamesgetsit again.. But can anyone really blame me? This particular track probably isn’t everyone’s favorite since it’s a bit different, but he's done so much more this week too that I could have chosen. At least even though I have to keep giving @jamesgetsit this spot to be real, I still hope it’s different enough to be interesting.

"Beautiful Music" - Inspirational HipHop / Piano, Downtempo, spoken wordish

This is just beautiful in my opinion. I feel like it’s really challenging to rap without drums like in the intro for this but @jamesgetsit nails it in a unique but somehow perfect way. What do you think? If this is not your thing, like I said, he’s got so much more on his blog. One other thing I just noticed is that he’s hosting a new text based rap contest so check that out: Kill the pad

A runner up and worthy mention this week I think was @scribblingwilly’s Skeletons which he posted yesterday. Some hip hop therapy that I think many of us can feel with. Now finally to the three main features:

1. @wolfnworbeikood


I first noticed @wolfnworbeikood or “DookieBrownFlow” as he’s also known this week when he won @termitemusic’s worldwide cypher and I’m glad I did! Together with “Father Earth” they go under the name “Second Womb” and they seem to have been going strong for a good while now. He’s been posting frequently so please go look at his feed too but I’ve chosen three posts from this week that can help you get an idea of who this is:

2. @jaguarpawmu


@jaguarpawmu just joined Steemit in december but have been grinding hard since then! I just noticed his “Daily Freestyle Rap” segment when he commented on last weeks post and fell in love with it! Another good reason to check my Steemit feed every day. If you haven’t seen him yet please give a couple of episodes a try and let him/us know what you think of them:

  • Todays Daily Freestyle Rap from Jaguar Paw Mu!”(Todays) - “Still pushing forward like a wild boar”. You can start listening to whichever post you want from here. @jaguarpawmu is “timeless” in his daily freestyles!

  • Todays Daily Freestyle Rap from Jaguar Paw Mu!”(Yesterdays) - He said he was a bit rushed for this one but still delivered in my opinion! Really using different beats to push himself forward in new ways every day.

  • Jaguar Paw Mu - Just Dance” - Always love when people show some diversity in talent. This is more of a dance beat but I’m sure you could rap to it if you’d like! Sounds like a good quality beat in my opinion but please go let him know what you think as well.

3. @scottychams 


Welcome this newcomer to Steemit in 2018!(I know many of you already have before me..) He found me here and commented on last weeks ‘Cut of the week’ that he wanted in. I can’t promise that everyone who comments will be featured but it definitely means I’ll actually find your stuff and listen to it so please still do that! I'm happy he did since he definitely deserves some more attention. He's participating in a lot of the rap contests and also recently started doing daily raps!

I think that’s all I wanted to share this week.. Let me know what you want to see more of in the comments or just promote your own blog cause I feel like I’m always missing something haha. Until next time, make hip hop and peace on Steem! 

Sort:  

I love this man. Everyone needs to be resteeming this. This is our NEWS.!!

Appreciated!! Haha almost too much pressure to keep up with everything now!

Great job dude. I was out of pocket the past week so I'm just seeing this post.

Thanks a lot for all support!!

Im so hype about #thecut yo ...been telling every artist i know about it! i go back on the road soon too, so ill be doing more live video and performances!

Its funny cause since a youngin whenever my would mom calls and asks me where i am, i say "in the cut, like a bandaid" ! Power of the word i suppose haha ✌ to yall

Feels good to finally be here!

Haha sounds great and I'm sure I wrote down "in the cut like a bandaid" for a verse but changed it to a similar wordplay before recording. Love this community, see you around the cut!

Dope cuts! Yes Hip Hop is growing up in here. The first ever Blockchain Hip Hop community. This is history right here

I appreciate you taking the time to do this. You do actual research before giving your breakdowns. That makes me trust your opinion even more.

Keep pushing this.
I'm checking out all of these right now!

Thanks for noticing, I'll keep it up! I like your name, very explanatory. I'll have to check out your feed soon!

This is freakin epic man.

So much information about music and the community. Such a great idea. Looking forward to more of these o weeeee

Much respect to the new members of #thecut!!! Everyday we get bigger and stronger! One love @privat, another great post, upvoted and resteemed my dude!

Thanks K.E.N appreciated!!

Wow! i´m so proud of you what a great job you are doing here, all my love to you❤️

Thank you!! ❤️

Yea man, everyone you listed is on point. Haven't checked out paw mu too much, I have noticed him, but haven't spent too much time listening. Will go ahead and check out some of the ones your listed.

Ofc willy is always a all-time favorite of mine.

That dookiebrownflow though??? Something serious there. Great talent.

Yea I enjoyed jaguar paw mu's freestyles at least and DookieBrownFlow seems to have a serious game already! I hope he continues doing the challenges here and stuff as well!

Alot of sick stuff in here!!! Yeah, been a dope steemhop week!!!!! haha!! These are awesome posts for me to not miss stuff man!!! I spend alot of time beatmaking init!! haha !! props bruv. def keep doing these!!!!!

Thanks and glad that I can assist so you have more time beat making!!

Oh damn so many thing to listen and so little time...
Thank you brother to keep up the hunt for what's fresh so I don't have to do it myself!

Haha no problem thanks for stopping by! There's still a lot to discover out there as well!

Dedication to quality is key!!! Thanks for showcasing us artist's with a true passion for the craft!

This post has received gratitude of 1.10 % from @appreciator thanks to: @alao.