"And Then I Made My First $100K Online" - When Your Little Brother Kills It On YouTube

in #theeverydayproject7 years ago (edited)

There´s a special bond between siblings that is hard to put in words. 

Something magical flows in between these souls that partly share the very same genes.
We are not just friends, sparring partners or advisors; we are more than that. 

When they suffer, you suffer twice. When they succeed, you celebrate it even more.
When they are happy, you are in Heaven.

Proudly introducing: @moritzmerle

He will surely call me later and say: "Great introduction, but did you really need to call me the little one?"

I´d reply that I accidentally did as a matter of habit. He and his twin brother are 9 years younger than me. There was a time we were living in the same city, them starting their University career and me starting the professional one.

We were somehow like the three musketeers, inseparable and unbeatable but still half-baked :)

Now a couple of years later - the two of us being separated again living in different countries - I watch that YouTube video of yours and my eyes get filled with tears.

You can´t imagine how proud I am of you!


Moritz (@moritzmerle) is currently competing in a German website building competition called NSC 2017 (Nischenseiten Challenge you better don´t try to pronounce that one if you are not a native German :D).

He is one of 5 participants that are officially coached by a mentor during the complete period of 13 weeks. The aim is to build up and capatilize a special interest website and document the experiences, challenges and progress in their own blog along the way. The most profitable site wins.

The challenge started on the 13th of March, and here is Moritz´official entry vlog.

Start of Transcription / Translation 

Welcome to my introdution post in the context of the NSC 2017. My name is Moritz Merle and I will compete in the NSC 2017. 

Before presenting the idea with which I will enter the challenge, I´ve prepared a short introduction video for you. It will show you what I have been doing during the past years and how I came to know the NSC 2017. Let´s go!

*** Animation starts ***

It was in February 2014 when I heard about the NSC for the very first time. 

After finishing my University career I started looking for the perfect business idea in order to become an entrepreneur. I didn´t want to work much but earn a fortune.

I was wondering about something like an automatically running system that generated income while I was having a Mojito on a vacation island. 

The 'special interest website concept' designed by Peer Wandiger was somehow made for me.

Creating websites from my home computer, acting as broker for products and receiving huge commissions? That´s my opportunity I believed at that point of time. 

So I went all-in and spent a considerable amount of my savings on coachings and books and got perfectly prepared for building websites of special interest.

Then everything began.

After three days my first website was launched and after two weeks I earned my first 22 Cents with Google advertisement. 

I think it was one of the few moments in my life when I started to dance around my working station.

Regardless of the kickstart I was a newbie, and newbies make a lot of mistakes. Mistakes that can cost a lot of valuable time. 

To keep the story short, the following months were much harder than I ever dared to imagine. Everything took much more time than I actually expected. Things that I am able to manage in one hour today, probably took me several days at that point of time. 

When I wasn´t sitting in front of my laptop then I mowed the neighbour´s lawn in order to survive.

From today´s point of view I am seriously asking myself: what animated me to continue? Well I somehow believed in myself and the whole special interest website concept. 

My patience was supposed to be rewarded after all. 

Incomes increased continously and in December 2014 I made more than $1,000 for the very first time. Damn, I was so proud! 

The following two years turned out to be more relaxed. I permanently launched new websites and could even outsource some work to external employees. 

Until today I can proudly announce having placed more than 35,000 products and received a bit more than €100,000 in commissions.

How these special interest website story is going to be told in the future I can´t tell. But I will definitely build one more website. Maybe it´s going to be the last one, maybe not.

I think this will be revealed during the next 13 weeks of competition.

*** End of Animation ***

Now I will show you the special interest my competing website will be about.

I will test coffee mashines and publish the results on my special interest website.

To prevent me from talking bullshit about these coffee mashines, I´ve prepared myself accordingly and did a barista training a couple of months ago. During the training I learned how to make the perfect coffee, how a good coffee should look like, how it should taste, how a nice milk froth is made etc.

All of the knowledge gained during the training will be pumped into my competing website. The aim is to present the chosen coffee mashines in a professional and completely objective way.

One special sidekick of my challenge entry and related vlog is that I will share all the knowledge that I have personally gained during the past three years.

I was a newbie when I started with this business, and I wished there had been some people giving me an insight in their projects like I am planning to do it now. That was something I missed in my beginnings, so that´s why I will do it in a different way. 

That´s why I will provide you with weekly updates on my doings, explaining every step during the website development process. 

Like that people who are completely new in the business may have an easier way in than the one I had.

That was my introduction post in terms of the NSC 2017. I will start working on my project now. 

Good luck to all of the participants, I hope we will have a great time and will be able to benefit from each other. 

Please don´t hesitate to join my blog and give me some feedback on the running project.
See you! 

End of Transcription / Translation 

Links to follow:

The competing website: http://www.kaffeemaschinen-tester.com/
The YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCJ6glY2p5nG6nJxoxVjTFA
The blog: http://www.moritzmerle.com/


Thanks for this amazing lesson. 

My fingers are crossed for you, sweetie! Best of luck for the challenge!!!

Hopefully you will start filling your steemit account @moritzmerle with all these inspiring videos and blog posts soon after finishing the competition. It would be a huge plus for the community if you shared your great knowledge with us :)

Your proud sister 

Sort:  

That's pretty neat! Hopefully we can say that about our steemit.com blogs one day!

Yeah, definitely! :)
His secret: patience, consistency and strong belief. I think that is exactly what we need here, too.

All we need is PCB!

PCB stands for?

Patience Consistency and Belief!

Yeah, that´s THE formula :)

Haha i got that one!

LOL - maybe it´s because I am blonde? Or just very slow? Or... it´s 10pm? Haha

Your brother sounds like a hard working smart man! I think we can learn from what he is learning in building his business and websites. I'm going to look into his competition and i wish him all the best!

Thanks to you for this nice article. It's a nice description of what he is doing and your special relationship, and he should be proud of You Too!

Oh that was cute, Kenny. Thank you!
Yes, independently of being his sister (which means that I am not objective), he's definitely a hard worker and extraordinarily smart. What I admire most is his patience and persistency. I bet most of us would have quit after the first weeks. He didn't.

Herzlich Willkommen Moritz!

Ich werde es ausrichten :-)

Prima :-)

Welcome to steemit Moritz!

Thank you, Adil :)

Good luck @moritzmerle! What an entrepreneur - it is all about creating a system that can run without you being there!

Yeah, it´s incredible that he had this idea of creating something that worked for him... and then he simply did.

great addition to the community! awesome

I hope he will read that one soon :) Thank you!!

Wish you all the success with the tests @moritzmerle. Perseverance must lead to success! Solid product testing is something what may be a very interesting market. With the Amazon and the likes, or Hardware.info even, tests are quite superficial. Next to technical specs, it also is about the feeling with the product. How user friendly it is. And also objectivity. When you are able to bring that across, people will really start trusting you and following your advises.

That´s it. The professionality of the presentation is key, since the money (commissions) are earned when placing a special product, thus enabling the final sale. Means: if a potential customer visits the special interest website (here: coffee mashine test website) and - after watching the related videos - decides on one product and effectively CLICKS on the placed links to the big supplier sites like amazon e.g., then the holder of the special interest site (here: broker) gets paid. It´s a commission based brokerage that - besides the ability to create websites - requires profound SEO knowledge.

Cool. I think this is called affiliate marketing/sales. That is becoming a big industry now with so many bloggers trying that model to monetise their work.

Correct. That´s the future of online sales :)

I think I agree with you. Time will tell, but looking good :)

I should have said: that seems to be the future :)
My brother knows much more about it. I hope he will find some time to add his thoughts here in the comment section...

Thank you :) I hope he can indeed find a bit time to bring to us his thoughts, would be very interesting for sure.

pictures of youtube videos are my worst enemy

Why? Have you tried to click on them? :D

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 05. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 05 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Seems that we earned these $0.21 during the past 6 hours ;) But thanks!!

that is so cool from your 'little one', amazing!

Thank you, @immarojas! I hope he will read all these wonderful comments within the next hours and feel even more motivated for the competition :)

he'll gonna show the big sister how it's done then?? the world have changed ;)

Yeah! I can definitiv learn a LOT from him and will do with great pleasure :-)

You know am kidding right ;)

Haha, yes I do :D
However he's the affiliate boss of the family, so there is definitely a learning potential. He can teach me how to monetize special interest sites and I can give him some tips how to perform on steemit :)

Kinda like his ' didn't want to work much but earn loads' thing..

Ok)

Would be cool if you found a way to speak in whole sentences :) This is not Facebook here... Thank you, too kind!!!

Верьте мне люди..)))

Я ничего не понимаю
Please try to communicate in English :)

Translate no ???....blockchain....fasebook no,..steemit...))).....не нравится,не ешь..)))