You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Great Steem Giveaway Is Back - 150 Steem To Be Won!!!

This is a really wonderful thing to do for someone who you care about. What a fantastic way to promote a *good person and quality content. *
I have not seen anything like this before and think its awesome!

Looking forward to seeing the barrage of views and comments this guy is going to get! Hope it starts a snowball that will roll on to his future posts∞§∞

Sort:  

Thanks @quinneaker, yes I hope he does get tonnes of resteems and votes, he really does deserve it, and as a stakeholder, I don't want quality producers to be put off from regularly posting.

There are some others who are fully deserving as well, so if this works, there will be more :-)

Cg

I think this is a genius campaign and would be surprised if it does NOT work. Though the unfortunate part of giving "rewards" is that people often just do it for the reward and then when its gone don't care...
Hopefully though if he is as likable as you say people will find him for the rewards and stay for the content!
We shall see!

Hello, big rewards for commenting well? Where?

Oh, the rewards are gone. Bye!

However, big subsidies to posts can continue until an account grows large enough from the rewards, and large post reward sizes attract viewers and votes in themselves, at which point the subsidy can be withdrawn.

I would hope that when people feel how good it is to genuinely comment on someone's work and receive that feedback, that maybe, just maybe, it will become a learned behaviour that might just continue.

I'm an eternal optimist, I know :) But really, anything is possible.

It really depends on the needs of the person commenting, many do so because of the need for income, and they will move to whatever income stream is working at the moment. Many would prefer to be able to communicate in their native language.

I see on steemdb that the % of the reward pool given to comments is about the same as miners so it's certainly nothing to sneeze at.

I think that once we solve a few easy issues like global poverty then everyone can comment genuinely on articles they actually want to read. xD

Good one :) Global poverty....hmmm shouldn't be too hard to figure out.

I get it though; I'm not in a position where I need to make money here, so it's easy for me to say. But regardless, I'm the type of person that could never leave inauthentic comments just for the sake of money. I guess however, I could search out posts based on the possible curation award and still genuinely comment there.

I hear what you're saying though and appreciate your thoughts :) Cheers!

Yes, there is a danger of people just commenting for the reward, and I've thought about it a lot.

In the end, I figure if somebody is just doing it for the reward, but it makes them read a post and leave a really good answer, and maybe even a relevant link, then they have given a lot of value to that post.

Plus I thought another good way to carry on the vibe after the competition ends, is to get them to resteem. That way it is up in their feeds and it increases the chance that others will find him.

I do think some will simply stay, I'm interested to see how it goes, hopefully as well as the first one :-)

We shall see indeed!

Cg

I agree with you 100%. This can be the start of something really wonderful. Both for @quillfire and @cryptogee. Also for the whole community, because if more stuff like this pops up, then the goal of this community will have been boosted, and our aim refocused.

Never underestimate the power of a focused and determined group of Men.

By the way, do any of you like JRR Tolkien's works? Any fan of Arda or Middle-earth around here? Would be so awesome to see a big YES! from @quillfire, and to see him writing about it! The poems, are they yours? Man, you are on-par with the great ones! On equal terms with Shakespeare and others like him! Keep up the good work, keep them coming!