A question about ending therapy

in #therapy17 days ago

Today is my last day with my "therapist" of 2.5 years. Just a month ago, i lost my psychiatrist who seemed more like a therapist than anyone, and i adored him.
The psychologist is moving across the world, the psychiatrist moved as well. I feel lonely and scared, though i HAVE found another group to get involved with of cnp counselors, a psychologist and one med management person. Im so nervous, almost to terror, to say goodbye to my current psychologist today. I dont know why; we even got in kind of a tiff a month ago, that doesnt seem to have ended. Sshould i address that and settle it today or should i not waste my last hour on such things? Im feeling so abandoned 😞

My vote is bring the feelings to session that you feel you can. All of them. The unfinished business is the reality, and it’s also a reality that things will end before all of it can be adequately addressed. I believe it is in your best interests to address as much of it as you can before the ending. You will likely agonize over anything that’s not addressed, so you might as well try to shrink that pile as best you can.