A question about text based therapy

in #therapylast month

What do y'all think of text-based therapy? I used to think there was no way it could be as good/effective as face-to-face and then I got super lucky with a Talkspace therapist. She was so sensitive and patient and kind it allowed for attachment even in that environment. Just missing her a bit tonight and thinking about the different ways we connect.

I think it can be very effective… especially for people who feel very exposed in face to face, online, or even phone interactions. It can provide a way to open up about deep wounds… while feeling less of the shame associated with speaking about the unspeakable. I think it could reach a demographic of people who might find other forms of therapy way too intimidating to try… or who have had really bad experiences

The crisis text line in the US operates on the premise that a lot of people who won’t make a phone call will reach out by texting. I know personally that in a lot of areas where I need some kind of support I prefer to work through a live chat line than talk on the phone, so I suspect I would feel similar if the support I needed had to do with making it through a crisis and I had to reach out to people I didn’t know for that support.

So… this is something I want to learn more about.

The part I’m most interested in at this point is how lengthy text exchanges could be best incorporated into a therapeutic frame. Whatever the therapy style is, intentionality, predictability and sustainability are very important. One of the risks involved in less traditional forms of therapy is that if not contained in some way they could take on a life of their own that’s not always helpful. The solution to this is to place it squarely within the therapeutic frame.

The question I have is how.

Sort:  

Congratulations @wiser! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2024