Are you secretive, regarding therapy’s costs, and the frequency of your sessions? If this information, marked private, what is your reasoning?

in #therapy25 days ago

I don’t advertise the fee I pay for a session, mainly because I get a very discounted rate and I guess in comparison to what M could be making off me, I feel somewhat embarrassed that I have struggled to afford it. One time someone quoted their insurance copay and it was substantially higher than my out of pocket rate. I know that my struggles to afford my therapy come out of stuff I’m trying to work through in therapy… so it has a bit of a catch 22 feel to it. I’m super grateful to M for his generosity, but no, I guess I don’t want to advertise just how generous he’s been to me in that particular respect.

I have no such qualms about my session frequency. I do once a week which is pretty typical and I’ve never hidden that. I think it’s also known that if I could have my way, I’d meet with him twice a week. But once a week is working out just fine, especially since I have this outlet here (and on my own space) to process through things outside of session.