Imagining, your therapy, ending.. what are the words and messages, the set of feelings, for your therapist? (Maybe, this listing, the work, still remaining..)

in #therapy27 days ago

I think about this a lot actually. I have no intention of ending my therapy any time soon, but I’m also aware that it could end at any time. Stuff happens.

I know this could change but I think what would give me the greatest sense of satisfaction would be hearing more about his perspective on the journey we have taken together. I’d want to hear lots of good stuff about how far I’ve come and what a blessing it was for him to accompany me. But even more, I’d treasure hearing more about how our work impacted him, especially all the ways working with me helped him grow personally and professionally. I guess I never believed it when he first called it a one sided relationship.

As for what I’d tell him… whatever I could put into words wouldn’t be enough.

If I had enough fair warning, I’d probably write him a letter that he could keep… and maybe ask him to do the same for me. I can write better than I can talk. It still wouldn’t be enough to express how I feel about him and all the help he has given me over the years.