The story in series has begun!! Rules of play - Win at least 10 SBD!!

in #thestoryinseries7 years ago (edited)

Hello, hello fellow Steemians!

I am proud to (finally!) present the first chapter of "The story in Series"!

red-ribbon-scissors.jpg
Image Source

I know that it is long overdue but if you take a look at the photos below you’ll understand why there was such delay.

layouts300cc.png
layouts300cc.png
layouts300cc.png
layouts300cc.png

Here you can see the adverse conditions under which I am supposed to work. Specifically you can see me with my laptop, trying to write the first chapter, and my dog, Maliq, tries to take a lollipop literally out of my mouth! And my girlfriend, instead of helping with this situation, takes pictures! Now, how can an intellectual product come to fruition under these circumstances??

But enough fooling around. The story in series is about to begin!

For those of you who don't know what this is, here is a little intro.

It's a proposal I did in my introductory post. Basically the idea is that I start telling a story and in the comments you suggest how you want the story to proceed in the next chapter. The comment that gets the highest reward after a period of time wins and I write the next chapter based on that suggestion. Exciting, right?

What to do to participate in this exciting project/experiment.

None of the following steps are obligatory (except the first), but why not do all of them, right?

  1. Read the Prologue and Chapter One
  2. If you like the stories upvote them and resteem them.
  3. [IMPORTANT] Write in the comments under Chapter One your idea on how the story should continue. Try not to skip this! It’s where all the fun is!!
    Give us an outline of the next chapter only. It doesn’t have to be detailed but it must be able to be written in a single chapter. Don’t give us the whole story. Hopefully this will be a story of many chapters that we'll get to write together, one chapter at a time. Also, only one comment per user, please.
  4. In addition to your idea, tell me how you liked the stories and any suggestions you might have.
  5. Vote any other comment that you like.
  6. Tell your friends to come and vote for your comment! 😉
  7. Resteem (and upvote) this post, if you find the whole project interesting.
  8. Follow me so you won’t miss any of the following chapters! The main tag is #thestoryinseries.

Also, the Prologue has been reposted, so that it's just the text of the story. I'll try and keep it clean that way. That's why this is a separate post. The original post with the Prologue can be found here. It has some interesting comments, if you want to check it out.

How is the winner decided and what they get

  • When the post pays out the rewards (after a week), the comment with the highest payout is the winner!
    After a few chapters this timeframe will most likely get smaller (3-4 days), but for now let’s keep it a week so more people have a chance to participate. And I promise to write the next chapter very quickly!
  • The winning comment will be the basis of the next chapter! Your biggest reward! 😁👏👍
  • You’ll get a hefty curation reward from the upvotes of your comment.
  • Just for Chapter One: The reward for Chapter One is 50/50. I will give to the winning comment all SBD earnings of the post or 10 SBD, whichever is higher!!
  • Just for Chapter One: A random upvoter of the post will receive the lower reward!!

Well, that’s it!! Enjoy your reading and I’m looking forward to your comments!

Until next time... Happy Steeming!!

Sort:  

Yes, I can see that you work in some really challenging conditions. You are truly deserving of our pity. Your dog is adorable!

I just want to say that I think this entire idea is awesome. I just hope we can drum up some commenters to make it interesting. I have had a lot of fun doing musical collaborations with fellow Steemit musicians and I think it is cool to collaborate on such a different (plot) level here with you. Steemit collaboration rules! I was happy to submit your post and glad the reviewers agreed with me that it was, truly, exceptional material. Congrats man! It is an auspicious start to this project, a Curie vote :) Much love - Carl

Thank you for understanding the inhuman conditions under which I have to work!

And really thank you for bringing this Curie vote! I believe this is a great boost for this project! Just what the doctor ordered!

I'm really glad you like it! I'm pretty psyched myself! It's a good idea, right? Collaborating on the plot of the story?! Who does that? Writing is basically a solitary work, but with Steemit everything changes!!

I just hope that people will comment on the story and offer their ideas! That way we can see all the possible outcomes, all the roads not taken. And, of course, the one we will take. This is the really exciting part! To see how the story turns out. Will it go smoothly or will something crazy happen? I mean the characters could end up on Mars or something! Ok, that's a little far fetched. I mean, who would suggest something like that, right? But you get my point!

So, let's wait and see. Hopefully it will attract some attention!

Best steeming regards!

I have thought of doing something like this for years .. I even started a website over 7 years ago where the idea is that one person starts the story and others add chapters to it and readers vote on the best one to use ... Then I was going to publish whatever book came out of it and share the proceeds with all the authors ...I like what your doing , I hope to see this grow. this could be a really cool thing!

Thank you so much!

I would love any input you might have from your experience with that project! Although I think that the fact that here the participants don't need to actually write the chapter but only suggest a course, makes it a little easier to participate. We'll see. Let's hope it will grow!

But for that to happen I must swiftly write the next chapter and I feel I am already behind schedule!!

So I hope to see your suggestion for the next chapter!

your welcome - oh yeah ..and that was the beauty of the site .. other people would write the content once I got it going so I didn't have to get behind...but perhaps you would be open to a guest writer to help you out if you get too bogged down. If so ..let me know .. It's been a while since I've done any creative writing ... would be a great excuse to exercise my creative muscles again....P.S. love the pics of the dog ... he is SO beautiful...what a wonder distraction

It's impossible to write anything when you have such a cutie next to you :D

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @michalis to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

pocketsend:666@michalis, Here, stick this in your pocket and keep it handy for the end of days. The @curie vote and trail just made your first chapter contest quite a bit more valuable! I hope this gains some traction, as I said I think it is a devious idea and I am happy to throw my weight behind it. Just whisper to any housefly that happens to be nearby if you need to contact me. Cheers - Beelze

Successful Send of 666
Sending Account: beelzebub
Receiving Account: michalis
New sending account balance: 994672
New receiving account balance: 665
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 488256a615bec275a7c4d930a9b7070ac2bd2ba5
Thanks for using POCKET! I am small bot and right now I am running this code.

Thank you, thank you! For your dark words, the invaluable @curie vote and trail and, of course, your offering! I have no idea what that is or what to do with it, but thank you nevertheless!

Check out @biophil's page for more on the POCKET token - it is a completely decentralized subtoken built on the Steemit blockchain, which you can send directly from comments using this syntax "pocketsend:AMOUNT@USERNAME, MEMO", starting your comment with the "pocketsend" command. The supply of POCKET can never increase so it is extremely likely the value will only increase over time. Biophil is a genius, and POCKET is an incredible idea. Okay, I am going to go try to drum up some commenters for you. Incidentally, if I DO win with my mars comment, I am going to donate my share of SBD earnings to roll forward to the Chapter 2 contest. It wouldn't feel right accepting the prize when I am the one who submitted your post to Curie in the first place. Cheers - Carl

Thank you for this explanation. I'll certainly look more into POCKET.

And thank you for supporting this project so much! Bringing people in to comment and donating your earnings, should you win, to promote Chapter 2. This is amazing!

And I hope you don't misunderstand my comments about your Mars suggestion. It's obvious that I'm only joking, right? And truth be told, it would be such a crazy development that it's totally worth it!

Cheers!

Wait you are a nuclear physicist for real? So any chance you can make this Mars thing happen in real life - maybe we can collide the perfect couple of particles? Get back to me

I really am! And the fact that I hadn't have any active engagement for some years now hasn't diminished my skill at all! I want you to know that! (Electron is a particle, right? Or is it just a cryptocurrency? Shit!)

Anyway, for the Mars thing you need an astrophysicist but I'll see what I can do about that perfect couple collision.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Your post was resteemed thanks to @beelzebub

Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.