Doing what you are most afraid of

Just finished reading this book today.
The-War-of-Art_straight_1024x1024.jpg

I really resonated with it, because I'm at a point where I don't know what to do with my life anymore. The upside is that I'm 20 years old, I've got a bunch of time to figure it out. But for the last 2 years I've been part of around 6 start-ups, either co-founding them or consulting for them, on the Marketing side of things.

I thought that will be what I would do for the rest of my life, business and marketing. But more and more now, I'm starting to doubt it. I don't know how to explain it, it's like I know that I want to be successful, I have all this fire in my belly, and I can choose any way to do it, because I'm extremely young. At the same time, I do like business and marketing, and I don't want to waste 2 years of experience, on some random shit. What if I'm wrong, and I return to these in 5 years, having wasted all that time?

This book helped me by giving me a compass to guide myself after, which is "Resistance". Resistance is the force that keeps you from doing the right things, the things that would help you develop the most personally and professionally. It manifests through fear. For example, a writer's biggest issue isn't the writing itself, it's sitting down, and actually writing. Doing the work. This applies to everything you do in your life. Therefore, the thing you fear the most, is what you should be doing. Whether it is saying hi to that beautiful girl, putting yourself out there, or just sitting down and doing your work.

I highly recommend it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @cristiungureanu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!