This Product Helped Me: Ubuntu Desktop

I've been using Ubunto desktop on my primary computer for about 3 years now, and I can't imagine going back to Windows. I wanted to share my experience in case some of you are thinking about switching away from Windows to a Linux distribution like Ubuntu.

The reason I switched from Windows to Ubuntu was that my primary work computer that used Windows 7 stopped working one day (the motherboard broke), and the only computer I had available to get work done was a very inexpensive laptop running Windows 8, but that computer was so slow that I couldn't really get any work done on it. I needed a working computer fast, and I was thinking about going to Walmart to grab a computer right away to help me get some work done. Fortunately, I decided to install Ubuntu on my inexpensive laptop alongside my Windows 8 installation. I followed the steps and used my Windows 8 laptop to burn a a free Ubuntu desktop installation DVD, and I recall it was pretty easy to get going on Ubuntu.

I was amazed at how fast the cheap computer was when using Ubuntu, and I could actually get work done on the inexpensive computer. As you would expect, the cheap computer was still slow at processor-intensive tasks, but for things like email, web browsing, text editing, and general office type programs it was plenty fast for me and I didn't have to see the hourglass I was accustomed to when waiting for Windows 8 to do something simple. I still got a new computer, installing Ubuntu of course, but I didn't have to rush to get a new computer because the inexpensive computer using Ubuntu carried me through for a couple weeks. I actually still use the inexpensive Ubuntu computer when I travel or when I want to install some software I am not comfortable putting on my primary work computer, and it is amazing how much mileage I can still get from an old, bottom-of-the-barrel laptop.

There are a number of things I like about Ubuntu. It is nice that it is free, but saving $100 or $200 on your operating software over the course of three years isn't that big a deal especially if you make your living with your computer. However, speed is a big deal and I can get the speed I want with Ubuntu using a computer that is much less expensive that a computer that is fast using Windows so the cost savings of using Ubuntu does start to add up, especially since I don't think I have ever had to pay money for any software on Ubuntu.

The Ubuntu Software Center typically has what I need with a couple clicks. Whenever I need software for a particular task, such as comparing different files, I do a search on Google like "ubuntu file compare", and since there is a big community around Ubuntu I can usually find the solution I am looking. For example, the first result I found in that Google search talked about the program "Meld" which is available with the click of a button in the Ubuntu Software Center which did a good job helping me compare files.

Another thing I like about Ubuntu is that upgrading versions is pretty simple compared to Windows. There is no real learning curve with the new versions of Ubuntu like there is with new versions of Widows. Actually, the learning curve of switching from Windows to Ubuntu was less for me that the learning curve of going from one version of Windows to the next. However, my wife found the learning curve of Ubuntu to be somewhat difficult, but she is fine with Ubuntu because it saves us money because she can still use her very old computer with Ubuntu on it so we don't need to buy her a new computer.

The one big drawback with Ubuntu is a lot of software seems to be de designed to cater to Windows users. There is usually an Ubuntu solution for most situation, but one issue I've had with Ubuntu is I haven't found a good substitute for Skype on Ubuntu. I actually I still have a spare Windows machine around in case I need it for something (e.g. to check something I am working on to make sure a Windows user can have a good experience), but thankfully it is only on rare occasions that I have to use a Windows machine.

If any of you are thinking about switching to Ubuntu, then I would be happy to try and answer any questions you may have. Also, I would be interested to hear about your experiences with Ubuntu or other Linux distributions. I almost went with Linux Mint, but I decided on Ubuntu because at the time I think Ubuntu was the most widely used Linux distribution, and I think it still is.