You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughts about comments in posts

in #thoughts6 years ago (edited)

The short answer is: the post makes 100% sense but you focus too much on the lesser issues.
The long answer:

  1. For me at least how old and how many comments there are already on a post has a big impact in my decision to comment or not. Why? because if there are many comments like in many of your posts it's more likely that you won't see them ( example the who to follow post - I wrote a long comment and you didn't see it, no hard feelings ). I totally understand why this happens but if I see like 100 comments already even if I write something interesting it probably won't get noticed. The same goes with more than a day old post. Heck, this comment has a low chance of getting noticed :).
  2. The way the comments are presented to the passer by is bad and there is a lot to be said on this, but just one or two observation: comments should load in pages to load quicker, people should be able to permanently toggle how you see comments, for example to always see the new ones. I could go one but this should be a topic on it's own.
  3. People just don't reward comments enough sometimes and you are better off just focusing on your content which is sad.
  4. We already have a culture of "shilling to the whales" so speaking your mind is not always profitable so not really worth it most of the times, although there are people who speak their mind and disagree, they are a minority.

Sorry for the long comment, I hope you get to see it. Cheers !

Sort:  

I do read 99% of the comments on my posts actually. I may not always vote them up or respond to them but I do always read them. :) Sometimes I just filter them by age instead especially if I have to upvote them cause that makes it not jump after each vote which is very annoying.

That's good to know, I thought there were simply too many comments to go through :)