You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On common sense and problems

in #thoughts3 years ago

By not being part of the problem, one is in fact part of the solution.

BEST sentence.

For the lack of debating the issue (I agree again), I am telling you a little story.

My man and I intended to spend a lazy Sunday. I only put some laundry in the washing machine to use the good weather, in order to dry the clothes outside. My son was complaining about the bad smells in the room, once you start the machine.

My man thought it might be the lint filter. And so he unscrewed the part and gave it to me to clean - there was hardly any dirt on it. Unfortunately, he ripped out the emergency drainage hose in the process. As a result, we had to spend two hours taking the machine apart to figure out how to reattach the hose. Since I didn't have a suitable tool, I had to go to the neighbour and borrow some. A good opportunity to feel useful :)

The whole affair could have really annoyed us and I also teased my husband to the effect (afterwards!) that he is best off leaving things alone that are not obviously broken but are very old, and I had located the bad smell in the sink drain anyway than in the machine itself.

He asked me if I couldn't have told him that straight away, but since he was so know-it-all when he unscrewed the filter, I let him do it, maybe I have a little mischievous side to me. LOL. I was also not a thousand percent sure, but only mostly, which is a difference. I laughed at him a bit because when I said that very old working machines are better left alone (from my point of view, any form of touching is already an act on a knife edge), he said I should try that on an old car, let the oil filter get dirty, that this comparison would be more than lame. And he would know exactly what I meant.

So in this case, we were part of the problem as well as part of the solution. HaHa!

Have a wonderful day, good "old" @vieira