In no particular order

in #thoughts5 years ago

It is almost midnight and we are trying to get our daughter to sleep, 3 hours after she normally goes and on a boat. She is a bit restless given the excitement of travel and, the schedule of the trip hasn't been ideal. Still, it is nice to be away.

OI000004.JPG

OI000005.JPG

These are some random shots I snapped as we travelled and since we were a little early, we went for a walk around the Turku riverbank. It is quite a nice city on the sea and the sun was shining with a few festivals about so, there were plenty of people.

OI000009.JPG

OI000007.JPG

The boat so far has been smooth as the seas are more lake-like than sea-ish and the boat is massive. We are sleeping on the 8th floor and there are two above us still.

OI000003.JPG

The boat goes through the Finnish archipelago and there is a very quiet and calm feel to travelling this way. This is what the view is like from our cabin. There are small buildings on some of the islands and sometimes I think I should live on one for a while to chill and rediscover myself.

OI000002.JPG

Pipedreams though as there is no way in the near future I see a chance of much self-discovery other than through writing. Luckily, I think writing is as good of a therapy as a retreat in the Himalayas if approached well.

20190616_000033.jpg

A bottle of bubbly is a not bad go to either. I am taking some easy Steem time lately as I feel I need to relax a little as there are just so many things going on in life currently. Sometimes I wonder if I am just complaining about it but then, I realize I am doing much more than perhaps I should in work and, there are many other challenges that create high hurdles to completing tasks well.

OI000010.JPG

While I am not one to burn out, I do recognize times that I need to create some space. Most people believe they are good at handling stress, I am not bad at it because I feel it early enough to act before the stress gets unmanageable.

As I see it, developing self-control is something that benefits me and at least the other two shadows in the picture above.

The WiFi seems good here but, I am only going to check my phone sparingly on this trip.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from a big boat)

Sort:  

As you grow older @tarazkp ...

"While I am not one to burn out, I do recognize times that I need to create some space. Most people believe they are good at handling stress, I am not bad at it because I feel it early enough to act before the stress gets unmanageable."

... you may find it interesting to see how your perspective on this changes. Mine certainly did ...

As a younger man, I thought I was all but impervious to stress. To the outside world, no one knew otherwise - poised, calm, a "professional's professional" ...

Internally? The older I got, the more openly and directly I challenged myself as to how truly detrimental to my long-term well being my old ... uhhh ... "attitude" had been. Not just to me, but to those near and dear to me.

Life is challenging, to say the least. Stress is a natural part of it. But, only in the small "rise to the challenge" doses which are unavoidable. We cannot stay there ... We cannot live there ...

It appears you are in a beautiful setting, from the pictures and your description of your trip. I hope overall it is a peaceful and restorative time for you and your loved ones.

We cannot stay there ... We cannot live there ...

This is the issue with having responsibilities of some kinds as they require constant maintenance and sometimes, there is no one else to take a portion of the load.

Internally? The older I got, the more openly and directly I challenged myself as to how truly detrimental to my long-term well being my old ... uhhh ... "attitude" had been. Not just to me, but to those near and dear to me.

It can be terrible for those around but again, there are some responsibilities that can't be neglected. It doesn't make for a fun life my any measure :)

Thanks for your response @tarazkp. We are "on the same page" re: responsibility. What I am referring to is an ... uhhh "unnatural" level of stress, beyond that. And what I have written may not apply to you at all. I was "projecting" what I have been through into into my perception of what you appear at times to be going through yourself.

So ... While primarily writing out of concern for your well being, has "wise" is that "in here?" I don't pretend to know, but perhaps "sticking a sock in it" is a more prudent course ... 😉

I hope you and yours are doing well.

Enjoy your time. That's the best advice I can give to anyone.

I do what I can to enjoy, lately it has been difficult.

I've been having the same issue lately. I'll just head off into whatever mode and carry on.

She is getting so big. You can see the curiosity in her eyes.
Very nice post . 1st time I have seen you relaying and just enjoying life

She is growing so fast and her eyes were like saucers when staring out the windows. It was nice to be in a different setting.

Nice family photos :) Enjoy your weekend!

Thanks :)

A sea voyage is good for resting as you can't go anywhere. Time away with the family should help recharge the body and brain even if it is only a day or two. I hope the sea stays calm and like a lake as that would just make it that much more pleasant. Enjoy it and have some fun.

It was a decent trip and was calm. I am not good on boats and get seasick easily so I am glad :)

I wish you a relaxing journey. To leave out your smartphone is a good idea. Very nice pictures. Beautiful memories that can not be deleted. Think also more often about travelling, posting activities to keep it on the blockchain. Enjoy your time. (I read it in your comments @nonameslefttouse) I will say yes enjoy yout time and enjoy your now. Children can do this we have to learn it again from our children. Best regards Michael

Children can do this we have to learn it again from our children.

I have no idea why we are so intent on training children away from what comes naturally to them in regards to their curiosity and enjoyment of life.

Easy steem time is good in a way, it proves you're not a robot. Your Work ethic on the platform has been extraordinary.

Great shots

I think there are a few people who work hard consistently but I also think that everyone needs to recognize their balance points and find ways to continue on without burning out.

I have to say I really liked those pictures of @smallsteps. My favourites were the fourth and the second one in the set.

She had a ball and she is so curious about life that she wants to investigate everything. It is fun - but tiring :D

Two-to-three-year-olds are like that. They're mobile and you have to watch them their every waking moment.

Perhaps it is the fourth one that I liked best. @smallsteps is crouched to see better and has a very keen expression on her face.

My daughter is about eight years older than yours. @smallsteps reminds me of her when she was at @smallsteps' current age. Not in her appearance but her behavior.