You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On revisiting old books

in #thoughts5 months ago

The best books are the books you always go back to. I have books I have read five, six and seven times or more. If a book it’s not worth a second reading, then it’s not worthy of your time. And it is true what you say that you don’t always have to stop to look for a new word, but you also have to keep in mind that those new words will surprise you with their meanings and will enrich your vocabulary. I always read a book, whether it’s fiction or not, with a sturdy dictionary next to me; and, while it is true that I don’t always look for a new word every time I always end up looking for at least one new word. Give the dictionary a chance, you’ll be surprised with what you’ll find there. I liked this post and if you like to read books I recommend you to check my most recent post about books here: https://ecency.com/hive-180164/@thereadingman/5-amazing-books-i-hope. Take care.

Sort:  

I agree.

I do look for words, but only when it is really necessary. Otherwise you can tell the meaning of many words just from the context. And through exposure one is also able to enrich one's vocabulary.

At the end, it depends on the book.