Thoughts from a desk - About routine

in #thoughtsfromadesk4 years ago (edited)
I used to think routine tames a man. As simple as it sounds. Having a routine takes out all the thrill from life, especially from the life of someone who craves adventure, improvisation, adrenaline and new experiences. Routine takes away the *unkown* side of things, it tears away the surprise factor from everyday enterprises.

Some may think that's good. In fact, it is. It's a positive take from life actually, it makes life run smoother and without unwanted outcomes - most of the time - or at it least helps people plan ahead and have some certainty and safety in a world where those two are some of the most needed factors to ensure long term prosperity.

I used to think routine was poison. A venom taking away flavour from life. In fact, I still do, but after 4 years - May 2016 - of barely having what could resemble a routine for short spaces of that time, I realized I crave it too, at least to some extent.

As an adrenaline rush seeker, I found myself wanting some level of routine.

You see, not knowing what will happen tomorrow, or next week, or even next month is fun and gives you space to play life by ear but, at the same time, it trumps and halts any long term plans you could have.

I've been wanting to get into some sort of routine and planning ahead for the past year, planning ahead and working to make my short and middle term plans get started. So far, it hasn't worked to good for me if I look at the big picture, but the small picture is slowly starting to shape.

This quarantine has opened my eyes and made me realize that, despite being an improvisation junkie, I can actually have a normal, boring life routine. This allowed me to concentrate more - since I don't have to swing it at life every second of every day; it gave me the chance to start building again and actually see the outcome of said plans which involve heavy work and dedicaction.

I craved routine after 4 years of not having it and I'm loving it. I have no idea how long it will last, how long will I be satisfied with no adventures, how long will I stand not having adrenaline rushes and feeling like I own my own life, instead of routine owning every minute of my week.

Hopefully it will be a couple of years at least, especially since my plans involve staying in one place for that space of time, and aditionally because my long term plans revolve around having a routine to some extent.

Don't get me wrong, I still have room to swing it, it's just not as much as I'm used to, and not nearly as exciting as it used to be, but for now, routine is good, routine is needed and routine is embraced.

IMG_20200521_084720.jpg

Oh yeah, that's my desk. It's small, a bit uncomfortable and quite Spartan, but it is what I have during this quarantinely routine, and it works, it works just fine.

Sort:  

I am always like plan a routine with 15% variations - that gives some flexibility and keeps the brain happy instead of making it hard and failing.

As usually, totally hear you on this. My life has been a lot about balancing between routine and "not knowing what will happen tomorrow", as bizarre as it sounds :D But this quarantine routine almost killed me. 3 months literally locked in the apartment... a real nightmare for an outdoorsy person like me. The only good outcome of it is that I filled out a huge part of that time by working out (at home) and I am now in my best shape ever :D

As I tend to say these days, stay strong, sane and healthy my friend. Seems like Mexico has been (and will still be) through some tough covid times...

How can you not have a routine? Like from time you wale up, to which side you get out of bed from to the cup of coffee,/tea/water? :D
It might be a small thing, but repeated daily makes it a routine :D
If you ask me xD

I try to get a routine in as much as possible, but I dont work very different shifts from time to time, so that makes it a bit harder for me at least :D

A veces tener una rutina y poderla cumplir genera cierta sastifaccion pues se asocia a pequeñas metas, siempre es bueno hacer lo que nos haga sentir bien y no quedarnos enganchados cuando sintamos la necesidad de cambio. Si es lo que te apetece ahora, pues adelante! Un abrazo y me alegra muchísimo leerte de nuevo,amigo mío!

I have to question what you're doing if a routine is owning every minute of your week XD

After 3 days in a "routine", I'm usually bored and looking to change something. Glad you've found a balance. These are crazy times we live in. Forced to do things we never thought necessary, like routines!

I hate routine but I am also a victim of it :) but I don't mind.

Just for the sake of long term plans, it is good to have some kind of routine to help you on the road.

Gl with ya plans, yo! :)

No matter the speed at which you are moving if you are not aware of the small steps that make up a path, as long as you are sure of the path you want to follow, you will have no problems. precisely what happens now is that you are more aware that you denied part of who you are and now you take advantage of everything you can achieve.