To Boldly Thread Where No One (named Deeann) Has Threaded Before: First Day Threadstorming on Leo Threads!

in #threads2 years ago

Image by Daniel Dino-Slofer from Pixabay

fiber-4814456_1920.jpg

So, fellow Hiver and friend @justclickindiva hipped me to the new thing the Leo community on Hive has brought to the Hive blockchain: microblogging on Leo Threads.

Now I got tired of Twitter YEARS AGO, and that began my journey to look for Web 3 applications although they did not exist yet ... the leaving there helped me find Hive's predecessor and really appreciate Hive itself when it finally came forth. However, the thought of microblogging brought it all back ... yet because I trust my friend, I stifled my qualms and checked out the Threadstorm contest (there is still time to enter if you move quickly: click here).

After I read what Leo Threads is about, I decided to take the plunge, because frankly, the Hive and Leo communities do not have the stupidity of Twitter. We just don't, which is why I have stayed around here for three good years now. I also considered the aspects of micro-blogging for doing what I do day in and day out: storytelling in a new way -- I kind of like the idea of a #threadstorm for that.

Now, some of you who read me regularly know that the kid cousin of Captain James T. Kirk lives right here on Hive -- the M.A. Kirk Universe is a regular feature in the Alien Art Hive community here (shoutout to @juliakponsford, our alien overlord). It seems to me that Leo Threads would be an ideal place for the MANY talented artists in Alien Art Hive and other communities to share their art with the wider community, with ONE CAVEAT that I discovered: next time I'll make smaller versions of my work...

lightning braid 3.png

... so people do not have to click and open a new window to be overtaken by it, as you will see happening to the bad guys in the #threadstorm itself!

https://leofinance.io/threads/@deeanndmathews/re-leothreads-3zt9r8

Other than adjusting for ideal image size and the character count image uploading takes out of the 240 characters (about half, so, be concise in your words!), Leo Threads is easy to use, and reminds me of the way Twitter was at the beginning ... just a little wonky, but not CRAZY yet.

Something that also helps in preparing a threadstorm: plan your lead comment and 19 responses in advance. My word processor automatically will number a list of 20 -- writing out each thread response and then copying each one over was easier than trying to write each one in Leo Threads.

I also like the idea of writing microfiction on Leo Threads -- shoutout to @felt.buzz, creator of the 240-character #zapfic in the Freewriters Community, who taught many of us the beauty of microfiction, and that much more can be done with 240 characters than tweeting as a twit on Twitter. Hive has many fine microfiction writers, and Leo Threads might be a place for them to strut their stuff, too!

SO: I have now planted the flag for my two favorite Hive communities, Freewriters and Alien Art Hive, on Leo Threads! I do see possibilities for great use and enjoyment of Leo Threads, and I will be watching (and participating) in its growth with interest!

Sort:  

Great intro to #leoThreads. I had planned to present my ZAPFIC Mondays with their 240 character limit. See you on #threadstorm.

Just returned from your #threadstorm. Awesome compilation of your M.A. Kirk Universe. Nice job.

Thanks for sharing.

Take care.

Thank you so much!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta