Three Wishes - A Challenge

in #three-wishes5 years ago (edited)

dandelion1737324_640.jpg
photo source HERE

There is a challenge that @guiltyparties started titled Three Wishes, you can view the original post HERE. @llfarms was tagged in this challenge (you can view her post HERE ) and she said one of her wishes was "For the behind the scene hero’s of Steem to be noticed and supported" and then she tagged me. I was stunned. I never thought of myself as a "behind the scene hero." I have just seen myself as someone who is doing their part to help keep the new people here on the blockchain. She is always so good at making us stop and view things in a different way; I don't really see myself as a hero still, but I appreciate her thoughts.

bs&ll.png
Screenshots used with permission.


Then I was tagged by @blind-spot (you can view his post HERE ). He actually tagged me as @heyhaveyamet. Those not knowing about @heyhaveyamet, here's a blurb for you. @brittandjosie and I do a daily posting of all the real introductions by new Steemians that are using the tag introduceyourself. Britt sorts through them and gives them information concerning how the Steemiverse works while I look at who she has found and put their information in a post so others can find them easier (you can view a recent post HERE ).

HHYM.png


drop.png


I have been challenged to post my three wishes. But what are wishes? If you believe Walt Disney, "A dream is a wish your heart makes" as Cinderella sang. Unrealistic wishes or not, what is it that my heart dreams of? What is it that I long for the most? I could wish for world peace, millions of dollars, or things as such, but it's not really what my heart desires. I thought I would share those three dreams my heart makes in this post today.

34454450682_eb81c2dd5b_z.jpg
Photo taken by @scottf while we park hosted at Eisenhower State Park just outside of Denison, Texas.


Wish One: I long to be back in an RV going across country to see as much of the United States as possible. It's not just about traveling in an RV for a vacation. It is about living, fulltime living, in an RV while visiting every county and seeing what makes each of those places special. Who are the people? What are their cultures? Where have they been as a community? When and how did they thrive? Why are they the people, the community that they are? I want to see the things that make the land special in each of these counties. I want the experience of living on the spur of the moment, doing what I can to learn as much as possible about it all. I long to be on the roads that are traveled by the people, not the highways that were created by Eisenhower to deploy the troops as quickly as possible. I want to take the slow, curvy backroads that will show the character of this country.

This means more than just the travel and visiting, it requires experiencing the world within each county. We would have to make a living so this means park hosting as much as possible, giving us time to know an area and travel further from the things that keep us tied down here. Yes, my hear dreams of being on the road again.

20180617_093452.jpg
Photo taken by myself at Caprock Canyon State Park in Texas.


Wish Two: I would like to have @scottf's photography and our travel blog to become something we can live off giving us an ability to see Wish One as a reality. I am not sure how to do this, but I am learning. I know we have really focus and get out there. There are so many of these wonderful young people who have the energy and drive that I am sure I have. People like @blind-spot, @prettynicevideo, @jaynie, @dreemsteem, and so many, many others I have been learning from here in the Steem Community. Where is it that they have found that drive? The energy? How do I find this to make Wish Two and One a reality?

I need to focus on the education but where do I find that? I am 52 years old and I do not want to spend four to six years going to college. I do not have the time or money for this. I have found YouTube and many online educational websites that are free and the knowledge they have is amazing; places like Udemy and Great Courses. I have already learned so much and am able to do the basics well, but my wish is to get that all working so the travel business can take off and enable us to be one the road before it is too late.

ren2.png
Me at 18 years old (yes definitely 80s) and me at 51.


Wish Three: I truly wish I could go back to when I was young. I had so much energy and drive. This is one of those wishes that are fruitless, but is it really? One year, 2016 to be exact, @scottf and I found that year to take forever. When we started looking at what the possibility was, we found this was the year we traveled to San Franciso and to Georgia, visited southern Texas, and were learning how to do photography and websites. There was so much happening in that year that we had no time to be doing the same old, daily routine. Could this be why our children feel life takes so long to pass? Is it because there is so much learning and new experiences for them on a daily basis that time slows down? After that year, life sped up again causing the old age to creep on just a bit more. Yes, I am not able to go back to those younger days, but I can wish for time to slow down and allow me to live every moment to its fullest.

dandelion-3381676_640.jpg
photo source HERE

For me the three wishes are not unreasonable, they are actually quite achievable. I need to just find the drive and learning. It's time to focus and get this done. I have so many things I would like to achieve before it is really too late. So join me and lets see where we end up together.

I would like to tag @scottf, @juliamulcahy, @r00sj3, @thekittygirl, @pennsif, @nathanmars, @sagescrub and @wesphilbin.

How to Participate:

  • Make a post with your three wishes

  • Mention someone who'd like this sort of thing

  • Use the #three-wishes tag




Thank you @penderis for this artwork!


Thank you @enginewitty for this artwork!


SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Sort:  

My dear friend, I loved your blog and @llfarms is right, and I love that we became friends. Two birds with the Same thoughts bundled powers one night ( I remember vividly ) and now we are doing things, well you are the one with so much lively energy, you are never done. Not even in the hospital 🧐

I hope that All your dreams ( I love that you include dear scott in them ) come through ASAP

TALK TO YOU SOON
X
BRITT

I do love that we are friends. You spurred me on with every introduction. You still do.
Ren

Let walk into the steemisfere future via theterminal together with @thekittygirl , couldnt do it without her.

Awwww, that quote is so lovely about the wish your heart makes, so delightful. Good luck with all your wishes honey and I have to say, after looking at your photos... You really age nicely, you are gorgeous 💚

Thank you so very much. I often feel as if i look like an old crow, then someone says how nicely i have aged. So thank you. It is good to be remind that I'm not extremely old.

If dreams come true! Maybe we should believe that this will happen?

Dreams do come true if you don't make them absolutely unreachable. I like to think of each dream as a stepping stone. If you have one dream, when reached, it will be where you can go for the next.... at least that's how I see it.

Thanks so much for joining in the conversation... Why don't you take up the challenge! Would love to see what your wishes are!
Ren

This post contained some typos in its mentions that have been corrected in less than a day. Thank you for your quick edit !

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Thanks @checky! I've corrected that!

Your wishes are definitely not unreasonable. What you guys do is amazing. My sister is recently widowed this past year and is looking to do the same thing; live in a van or RV while traveling around the Country.

I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.  – Susan Sontag


I hope that all of your wishes come true!

Why thank you! I am so sorry about your sis, but I hope she is able to get the perfect RV and travel. I know many single women who travel across the US on their own and they are amazing! Tell her to check out Park Hosting. It is where you live at a park and work in exchange for the RV site. It is my favorite job so far. I gave hikes and helped people check in.
Ren

Yes, that is my sister's, @mamma-dukes, plan. I have just gotten her started on steem and hopefully, we can get you guys together. She is working on selling her house and taking care of a great deal of debt that her deceased husband left her with.

I know she would be so grateful for any help and guidance you could give her regarding this new chapter in her life!

Thank you so much Ren.

I have personally followed her and will be checking in with her on the @heyhaveyamet account tomorrow. Tell her if she has any questions about steem or park hosting, to contact me via discord.
Ren

Wishes...

Just three? I like your wishes indeed; education is so important...

I am going to quote you here
"I need to focus on the education but where do I find that? I am 52 years old and I do not want to spend four to six years going to college. I do not have the time or money for this. I have found YouTube and many online educational websites that are free and the knowledge they have is amazing; places like Udemy and Great Courses. I have already learned so much and am able to do the basics well, but my wish is to get that all working so the travel business can take off and enable us to be one the road before it is too late."

That sounds like many of us...I know it rings true for me. After losing a job, divorce, getting kicked out of Online College... my dreams, or rather "wishes" to be the next Bill Gates kind of fell through... (insert canned laughter). Anyway...great post, and I see I have been tagged...

So...

Better get to work!

You can still be the next Bill Gates. You know he is more than a computer guy, right? He and his wife do so much to help the community. They literally saved my @lightfootedbird's life when she was in Portland. Because of that they are both saints in my eyes.
Ren

Oh yes...
I was working towards my B.S. in IT. Database Administrator, with focus in data security and storage (sounds fancy right?)...

I must admit, I was quite intimidated to found out students half my age, were "already doing" what I was going to school for...

Thank heavens I got my 90k+ student loan forgiven. But...good memories regardless :)

Hey! Aren't you supposed to wish for impossible wishes!... well, okay... maybe the third one would be a touch tricky! However, the second one is interestingly possible! I have added him to my watch list (I liked the photos!) in case he starts posting again... I do a weekly curation for PIFC! It's not much, but every little bit of exposure helps here on STEEM!

Hey @bengy! I don't like impossible wishes, they depress me and I fight depression enough. I do hope @scottf will start posting some more. He has been taking photos and working on some, but the move kind of derailed us. Hard getting back on the horse, so to speak. I have made myself promise I will start posting at least once a week with real stuff. Unfortunately, his posts seem to do better than mine. But of course, he is a hell of a writer.

PIFC... I keep intending to do that, but I'm so busy with HHYM that I forget. I will try to get on that.....

SCOTT!!!!!!!!!!! GET BUSY!

All three wishes I can relate too, I have dreamed about when I retire to get an RV and just cruise the country, it may never happen but hey dreams are free

good luck and may your wishes come to be

Free is good, being there is even better. I loved being in the RV. I miss it so very, very much.

Ohh yes for sure,

Oh, look at some of the the travel vans. If it is just you, these can be quite affordable and you can still parallel park one.

Well that is an option but I dont think my wife would be to keen on me taking off on a cross country adventure when I retire,and rightly so it should be the time for us to spend more time together

May all three of your wishes come true @xcountytravelers!

Thank you so very much.

Wow what an awesome post! Great steemians mentioned and such a positive and constructive challenge.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't do the challenges often, but this one really felt right.

Hello @xcountytravelers. I really like your blog and how you write sentences here. Well, I feel this writing is so flowing. I get honesty and great hope that always awaited. hopefully everything can come true except about returning to the past.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Please consider yourself tagged! I would love to know about your three wishes!
Ren

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and/or a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Thank you so much @jaynie, it means so much!

I am so glad to have met you on the blockchain, and always have so much to learn from you on the daily.
You have to give yourself credit for doing so much. I know I wouldnt be able to do half of what you are doing at 40 itself.
I was browsing through your website, http://crosscountytravelers.com/, when I remembered that I had saved this post for later when I was relaxing...and that's one of the ways your website serves me, a consumer.

I wish you the best of luck with learning skills, udemy is actually very cool. I wish I had the time to learn some new skills. I don't have the time...

You are so extremely busy. I admire how much you get done actually. But, do take some time and try to learn something new periodically. It helps to keep you young.

Thank you for visiting our website. I just love doing it because I am always challenged when I work on it.

Ah, to make a passion a career and comfortable income. That's one of things Cinderella mentioned🦇

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes it is. She is someone no one would ever notice and boom she popular and famous for a silly accident and crazy veggies. She's such a great example for the social media star.

Hi @xcountytravelers, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity and the trail!

If you want to support us, please consider following our curation trail, setting us as your witness proxy, or delegating STEEM POWER to us.

JOIN US ON

Thank you so much!

@xcountytravelers GO FOR IT! ((:

Dream big, but make your moves step by small step; you'll get there (: waiting to see you travel and snap magical shots 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

We are trying to lay low travel wise so we have the money for the Creator's Conference in Austin.

I definitely do not disagree with the statement that you're one of the 'behind the scene heroes of Steem' :0)
And may all your wishes become true (The two first ones at least, lol)

Haha! You crack me up. I do appreciate the support so many of you have given for our projects.

Your wishes are indeed possible my friend, as I am a firm believer in miracles.

Wishes are only wishes if we don't "aim" to fulfill them. Here's to wishes coming true!

Upvoted from PYPT curation show on TheRamble Steem18.png

Howdy xcountytravelers! Hey spoken like a true hero! lol. True heros always say that. I love your attitude and optimism so keep being a great role model for new steemians! God bless you guys!

Thanks! Its been a busy few weeks and it's not slowing down. We went to Pawnee Bill's Ranch today and think there is a great opportunity for a great video! Thought of you the whole time we were there!

Howdy again xcountytravelers! lol..thank you, where is that at? I don't think I know of a Pawnee Bill but it sounds like an Indian cowboy.