You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM EXCLUSIVE - Why Are Atheists So Hateful?

I think this is a field where everyone is probably right and wrong at the same time because we actually don't know what we are talking about, we have no proof and we have no "unproof" so it is like a no man's land your ideas are just as good as mine or anybody's.

  1. If Tom's idea of a good weekend is killing and raping at least 5 innocent women is his idea of a good weekend right or wrong?

  2. Is there any proof or unproof it is or isn't?

  3. Is his idea of a good weekend as good as yours?

I am not going to change my ideas because of what someone else believes nor is it my idea to try to make someone think like I do.

  • And if Tom was your adult son, would you try to influence him to think like you in terms of what a good weekend should be, or would you let him continue to think that weekends are about murder and rape?
Sort:  

And what do your questions have to do with there being a God or not, which is what I was talking about? I really fail to understand what you are trying to say.

And what do your questions have to do with there being a God or not, which is what I was talking about?

You were trying to use the idea that all ideas are equal & the idea that you don't try to get people to think like you as evidence that it is right to believe that a God exists.

So I tried to demonstrate that some ideas ARE better than others and that under at least one set of circumstances, you WOULD try to get someone to think like you.

You tried but you didn't, your arguments were total fallacies. They had absolutely nothing to do with what I was talking about. It was no better and no worse than when I was talking to a religious person nearly a fanatic and he asked me what I thought of God I told him I thought God was some sort of energy that was every where even inside of us, and he came up with the wonderful idea that I was saying I was God. See that is why trying to debate these things is a waste of time anything you are told that goes against what you belive is crap because only what you believe can be true. What i said still holds everybody knows absolutely zero about this subject so whatever you or I think is worth the same, nothing.

You tried but you didn't, your arguments were total fallacies. They had absolutely nothing to do with what I was talking about.

We might be able to have a better discussion if you tone down some of your emotions. I sense that you are really worked up and that you might even be experiencing adrenaline when you are sending me replies (it happens to me sometimes too).

I am not @arminnavabi but an atheist volunteer of @atheistrepublic and I am actually easy to influence if you speak clearly.

What i said still holds everybody knows absolutely zero about this subject so whatever you or I think is worth the same, nothing.

It might also be a matter of perspective @gduran.

  • I am absolutely certain of nothing.

So in that sense, I know nothing... but for practical purposes, I know that 1 + 1 = 2 and when you implied that all ideas are equal I tried to show you why I know that is false. And when you said that you do not try to get other people to think like you I tried to show you why I believe that is false.

I thought God was some sort of energy that was every where even inside of us

What if nothing is inside inside us and nothing is the "energy" you are referring to?

See that is why trying to debate these things is a waste of time anything you are told that goes against what you belive is crap because only what you believe can be true.

I'm willing to have a good discussion with you if you are willing to have a good discussion with me. We don't even have to debate, or "shit on each others ideas".

@atheistrepublic is a community of atheists and not all atheists are the same 😊

But you see the problem lies in that you do believe in something and you are trying to prove you are right, I on the other hand am sure there is no way of proving any of this, why would I get emotionally involved, as you imply in something I am sure I have no way of even knowing where to start as I don't know what it is. And that is the crux of the matter and the one thing nobody wants to accept, we are all completely ignorant in this one topic and the best thing we can do is believe what we will and just let everybody else believe what they will, as long as they hurt no one.

the best thing we can do is believe what we will and just let everybody else believe what they will, as long as they hurt no one.

As @arminnavabi clearly states in the video and via text, he is against Islam BECAUSE IT HURTS PEOPLE, especially Muslims.

So religions are hurtful, can we reach that conclusion? Because it isn't only Islam.