Being Thrifty: A Way of Life

in #thrifty6 years ago

Note: This post originally appeared on my blog The Octopus Sleep (formerly The Bohemian Boho Breeze) 1 year ago. It has been modified to reflect my current situation.

Being thrifty was a way of life for me. I grew up poor in New York City on Food Stamps and we had to make our Stamps stretch. Sometimes we added water to our Kool-Aid to make it stretch for a few days longer. We’d use dish-washing liquid when we didn’t have laundry detergent to wash our clothes. Back in the 90’s the PA allowance was $68.50 every two weeks (for a single person) and that had to last for two weeks. When I was searching for work at Goodwill, I received an extra $89 a month for a 30-day MetroCard which was a lifesaver because I would’ve never been able to afford to travel every day on $68.50 every two weeks.

Fels Naptha

Hispano Shredded Soap

White Vinegar

Apple Cider Vinegar

Washing Soda

Borax

Essential Oils

The ingredients above are only a couple of things you can use to make laundry detergent. Did you know? The motivation behind why fabric softener has a distinctive fragrance is to cover up the chemical smell? I use products such as White Vinegar or Apple Cider Vinegar since customary cleansing agents have synthetic ingredients in in them that are not Eco-friendly and potentially harmful to your health. Google the term "chemical smell fabric softener" and do your research. I've moved away from utilizing chemical fabric softeners and use hand made, natural ones instead for this very reason!

I’ve made DIY laundry detergents with Hispano shredded soap and baking soda. Sometimes I’ve used Dr. Bronner’s Castile Soap with baking soda and my clothes came out really clean (and great smelling!). You can make liquid laundry detergent with Hispano or Fels Naptha and Castile Soap. Google “homemade laundry detergent” for dozens of recipes. When money was tight, I’ve used hair shampoo or body wash to keep my clothes clean. Or I’d use the Tide Clean and Fresh Detergent in the small yellow container that some dollar stores sell. That’s no longer an issue, but when you’re struggling to survive, you do what you have to do in order to maintain good hygiene.

Grocery Shopping

Before moving off of Long Island, I used to shop at my nearby Compare Supermarket, Dollar Tree, Islip Warehouse C-Town or Bravo because their prices were very reasonable. On the off chance that I couldn't find what I required at those stores, I went to Trader Joe's (which is claimed by Aldi Nord) or Whole Foods Market. Both Aldi's and Trader Joe's have sensibly estimated things and despite the fact that it's been a long time since I've been to an Aldi's market, regardless I hear their costs are as yet sensible.

I also shopped at Walgreens, CVS and Rite Aid in case I cant find what I'm looking for in the supermarkets. Use, use, use your rewards cards at any store that offers them. I used to get coupons for 40% of one single item at CVS or $5 off your next order (since I was a regular patron). I live in Central Harlem now so there's Duane Reade, Foodtown and Key Food.

Purchasing Clothes

I suggest buying your clothes from the clearance racks from either Walmart or Target. Most of my clothing comes from either Walmart, Target, thrift stores or clothing banks. Since I’ve had bariatric surgery, I go through clothes quickly, so if you’re losing weight, buy your clothes from a thrift store or off the clearance rack and not buy them new because you won’t be wearing that size for too long. I even buy my shoes from Walmart, Target, Family Dollar or even thrift shops (I clean them before I wear them).

I’ve always been a bargain shopper and I’ve always found great deals anywhere I shop, even online catalogs. There’s no such thing as not being able to find a deal anywhere…because out there somewhere there’s always a deal waiting for you to take advantage of it.