A THROW BACK TO MY 2ND 9TH BIRTHDAY ANNIVERSARY.

in #throwbackthursday6 years ago

If there is any event in my life that I could not forget, it would be my 2nd 9th birthday anniversary, my 18th birthday I mean.

I learned the true value of friendship at that point of my life. Since I was a small child, I did not like attending parties as it was tedious. I dislike crowds and a lot of people fussing over me. It can be annoying when too many people tried to be nice on that particular day.

Well, my perception on birthday changed completely that day. Something unexpected happened and whenever I think about that day, it puts a bright smile on my face.

I met Abdul and Emma when I was 15 years old. Unlike other people, we didn't become friends the moment we know each other. In fact, my friends disliked Abdul and Emma, as these two were arrogant and always caused trouble in class. To cut a long story short, we only started to become friends when I helped one of them during a rainy day. Surprisingly, it just happened and we became best friends and inseparable.
FB_IMG_1519912792867.jpg

Secondary school days passed quickly and it was the time that we need to go on our own paths. I was feeling so miserable as I missed my best friends. Both of them went to join the military academy, that was a 12 hours journey from my place. I was still weighing my options on where to further my studies. Sadly, I was feeling down and miserable as I felt my friends don't need me anymore. They were too busy with their own life to take notice of me. I know it was childish of me to have think like that but I could not help myself. They never had time whenever I called them for a meet up. I lost my temper and vow never to call them again, We stopped talking and I guess, that was the end of nearly 3 years of friendship.

On my 18th birthday that was about 2 weeks after the breakup with my friends, something I never imagined in my wildest dream happened. I cannot even put in words how I felt that day. Well, for me turning 18 or 70 does not make any difference because it happens to everyone. What was so special about it?

It was about 1:00 pm on the day of my birthday, I was at home alone because I never had a plan to celebrate it. I heard a knock at the door, on getting to the door, to my surprise it was Abdul and Emma. Guy abeg no vex Emma said. I was glad to see my friends, they told me to go dress up and we set out to celebrate my birthday. We had mad fun that day courtesy of Abdul and Emma.
FB_IMG_1519912772623.jpg
I learned many things on that shocking and memorable day. True friendship never dies no matter how long we are mad at each other. Second, my perception on birthday changed as I realised it is not about the party. It is the thought that matters and the way everyone sacrificed their time to be there All in all, my surprise birthday party was really a surprise as it never occurred to me that my friends cared that much for me. Now I am in my late twenties and I still smile every time I remember that day.

source

Link to @gee1 #throwbackthursday https://steemit.com/throwbackthursday/@gee1/fun-time-with-gee1

Sort:  

You got a 3.64% upvote from @inciter courtesy of @teslim!

You got a 6.25% upvote from @whalebuilder courtesy of @teslim. Join @whalebuilder family at our Discord Channel. Don't let your precious stake(SP) go stale...Make it do more so you have to do less. Deligate it to @whalebuilder by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links: 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | custom amount.

Wow!!!
This is indeed memorable.
Your friends really went out of their way for you. This is what real friendship is about.

What are #throwbackthursday for???

Memories and of course fun.

Thanks for participating dearie.

Yh thank you @gee1 a friend in need is a friend indeed,they say