TikTok & WeChat BANNED!

in #tiktok4 years ago

By Reuben Yap and Naomi Brockwell

Tik Tok and WeChat have just been banned for US users, over privacy and national security concerns.

There seem to be 2 takes on this ban that are equally bad:
Half the people are saying “they SHOULD be banned because they’re Chinese spyware”
The other half are saying “the security risks are overblown."

Let's be clear, these app collect huge swaths of data and are incredibly invasive. But does this mean we should ban them? Why not let users decide?

What are your thoughts?

If you would like to send me a message and support my channel, visit https://cointr.ee/naomibrockwell
or visit Naomibrockwell.com/memberships to become a member of NBTV!
Huge thank you to all the supporters who keep this channel running!

For more stuff from Reuben Yap, visit:
https://zcoin.io and https://lelantus.io

Sort:  

what???????????

Every ban pushes us a bit closer to an open source world, it incentives people to build and share things that cannot be banned :)

US banned Kinder Surprise too.

kinder-surprise-3696514_640.jpg

I'm not surprised.

Brought to you by @text2speech. If you wish to convert your post text to speech then reply YES or NO.

Americans can probably get around the ban by using, I would imagine, APK, desktop versions of the phone apps, proxies, VPNs, firewalls, onions, garlic, lol, who knows what else, different combinations therein.

Geeks Gone Wild

But of course, the average human is not generally big into hacking, into being a computer nerd. But my motto is if you wanna do something, then good luck lol.

Hacking Into Tik Tok

If I really want to make another Tik Tok video, I may try to see if I can still find a way to get on it. But of course, you got privacy concerns, etc. But I don't know what is worse, what China does or what America does in trying to censor the Internet assuming that is what the U.S. government did or attempted at doing to any extent really.

Should people use Tik Tok?

People can use Tik Tok in the same way they you Facebook, Apple, YouTube, etc, as they all have one thing in common, China, and the concerns with Tik Tok are the same concerns you will have on other tech giants. If you're seeking after privacy, get off the Internet as much as you can and use big tech at your own risk, skate at your own risk. I'm giving up my privacy, rights, freedoms, liberties, etc, in some ways as I use the Internet. I choose to be public.

Seeking After Privacy

But if I was desiring to be private, personal, on the Internet, it would be extremely challenging if possible at all. But we can at least try to be as safe and as private as possible when need be, but understand how it can be challenging at times for sure.