Do you think of a year as a circle?

in #time8 years ago

Whenever I think about time, I have a way of visualizing it in my head.

One year is like a circle for me. If you say to me something is gonna happen in January, then I sort of put that event on that circle. I hear that a lot of people are like me, but for some reason my circle goes counter-clockwise. That's different from what most people tell me their year looks like.

I think 50 % of envisioning-the-year-as-a-circle people have winter on top and the other half have winter on the bottom. Or does anyone have winter on one of the sides?

January 15th is the top of my circle, and July 15th is bottom. This is how I have drawn it:

It took many years before I consciously considered the fact that I do envision the year as a circle, and I for me it was obvious that everybody else also envisioned the year as this. But I think I'm an odd case.

So what about your year. Circular? Clockwise? Winter on top?

Sort:  

My year is a line, I have a new line every year, am I even weirder?

Wow, that sounds absolutely insane.

It's strange, I actually view the week as a line, but I always view it from sort of a first person view, so one week from present is always kinda blurry. When I zoom out, it becomes a circle. It's a little like when I am down on earth, it seems flat, but when I zoom out I can see the curvature.

My year is whatever is the most obscure and unique

Like a square circle or something?

I look at life as series of circles. You start off making progress doing something, moving in an arc, get to a point, either start arcing the same way or back towards the orgin, tell you hit the top of the circle. Then you start arcing down and follow the same progress. When the circle ia complete you either start over on the same circle or move onto another circle.