Immortality. Would you really want to live forever (well if given a chance)?

in #timetravel5 years ago

View this answer on Musing.io

                                                                      

 The biggest downside or disadvantage of being immortal is that while you keep on enjoying the pleasures life has to offer, your loved ones and friends will perish before you leaving behind a lifetime of memories and regrets. Even if you live on to be more than 100 years of age you have had to witness deaths of certain members of your community and family. It will cause you to lose your empathy for others. Even if you keep on having new experiences you will not enjoy the same thrill as you did with your mates as you will start finding these new people very amateur to everything. You will get frustrated by the repeated drama of human emotions- good or bad. In the end you would stop valuing a human life. Immortality can be more of a curse than blessing. 


 But if given to a more optimistic person having ideal values of living a life of immortality can also cause wonders. The person having all the time in the world can master a new skill one after the other. He/She can travel all around the world. See every mountain peak, wrestle a lion,  dive deep into the oceans of the world. If determined can reach the ultimate form of a human being having extreme intelligence, skill,  personality and physical strength. 



Image Source:

  1. https://pixabay.com/photo-2213614/
  2. https://pixabay.com/photo-2345211/
Sort:  

Personally no? Although it might sound great if you recover from everything.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah.. No need to open that medicine cabinet ever again...!! Thats the main reason people are mad with characters of Wolverine and Deadpool.

Posted using Partiko Android

@sankysanket18
Hey good to see you back on Steemit.

I've thought about this question of immortality a lot, and I have to be truthful Death scares me, it scares me so much I have spent countless hours thinking about death. It is main driving force that drives me to try and do better and bigger things. I want to live forever, mainly because I'm afraid when I die everything goes blank, the end, and everything I was or could have been is just wiped away, and by the time my grand children die I will be nothing more than a forgotten dream. That's scary. Really scary. What if there is no after life? I like to believe there is, but I question it.

And I ask myself and come up with the same points you gave above that we would witness a lot of death and over time people would grow immoral, which no doubt some people would, but a lot people have witnessed a lot death already. My great uncle was a prisoner of war in the Korean war and seen his buddies die of starvation, killed and wounded in battles, he went temporary blind from scurvy from a lack of nutrition and weighed just a little over ninety pounds when he was set free, even though he lived through hell he was a good man, granted he was old when I was kid, but the man would give the shirt of his back and had seen more death than I ever will and he wasn't immoral. So it leads me down this trail and I think what would the world be like if people Isaac newton and other great scientist had just another fifty year to make great discoveries to push humanity forward. I think we be further alone than we are today.

I don't want to die. Ever. I know its going to happen and man that really sucks. I mean really really sucks, and it makes me think of how a person can achieve immortality, and I'm always drawn to this quote by Ann Frank,

"I want to go on living even after my death! And that’s why I’m so grateful to God for giving me this gift, which I can use to develop myself and to express all that’s inside me!

And I think she was right, we all were given a gift, and if we use are gifts, maybe, just maybe we can find immortality.

I used to worry about death before too. Just couldn't accept the fact that we will cease to exist and after a year or two no one would actually care.
But I have come to terms that like for everyone my life will come to an end. And that is what makes life special.
So its our decision whether we waste our precious time contemplating death or live our life to the fullest while also making a positive impact on others.

Wow! Deep! Your right, that is what makes life special. That's awesome. It's the impact we make that counts.

And another things that scares me is knowing my children will die. And that thought makes want to cry. I try not think about it, and try to give my kids everything I can. I would catch moon beams in a jar and give them stars if I could.

I never knew I could love anything on first sight, but the moment I saw my oldest child born my world changed. The three greatest days of my life was when my children were born and I want my three girls to live forever and forever go expanding in eternal youth.

Children, and not just mine, deserve only the best things in life.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! Deep! Your right, that is what makes life special. That's awesome. It's the impact we make that counts.

And another things that scares me is knowing my children will die. And that thought makes want to cry. I try not think about it, and try to give my kids everything I can. I would catch moon beams in a jar and give them stars if I could.

I never knew I could love anything on first sight, but the moment I saw my oldest child born my world changed. The three greatest days of my life was when my children were born and I want my three girls to live forever and forever go expanding in eternal youth.

Children, and not just mine, deserve only the best things in life.

Posted using Partiko Android