The Eye of the Beholder: Different POV's in Writing

OK, people.

Let’s make a deal. Next time I ask everyone what the next subject for a TinyTeaches post should be, please tell me to stop.

“Oh, Tiny! I’d love for you to do a post on different POVs.”
Me: “Sure! No problem! Hold my drink.”

Yeah. That’s me up there. Remind me to not do that again.

Because this one is hard to do.



But first things first.

I keep forgetting one detail. Not everyone is accustomed to the language we speak over at The Writers’ Block. Most writers who have done a little bit of writing, will know what POV stands for. But those of us venturing into the wonderful world of fiction for the first time might not.

POV stands for Point Of View. Basically, it defines the way we will see the story. Will we see it through the eyes of the protagonist? Maybe we will see it through the eyes of his brother-in-law. Or the housekeeper. Or maybe… Just maybe, we are the proverbial fly on the wall, overseeing the entire scene, including the person hiding behind the curtain, whom no one else in the room has noticed yet.

There are so many different ways to tell a story, and there is no absolute rule we can apply to help us decide. We’re on our own here.

The choice we end up making depends on a lot of things, and every POV option has its own pros and cons. I won’t presume to tell you what to use. What I will do is advise you to learn how to use each and every one.

That way you’ll be able to make an informed decision based on where you want to take your story and what you want to evoke in your readers.
In this post, I’m going to try to summarise the options we, as writers, have as far as POV goes. It will by no means be an absolute and all inclusive guide on how to write in each POV, but it will give you a starting point. A way to figure out what the strengths and weaknesses of each are, so you can think about them before choosing how to write your story.

Objectivity in POV

You use an objective POV, when your narrator describes facts but doesn’t show any emotion concerning those facts. When we add an emotional filter to our narrative voice, the POV becomes more subjective. This is mostly what we’ll be doing when writing fiction. It’s the only way to believably portray a character’s thoughts and emotions. Without those emotions and thoughts, the story is likely to fall flat and your reader won’t be able to connect and feel invested in your story or your characters.

Walk a Mile in My Shoes: Limited POV

This puts us in the shoes of one character. We see the story through his eyes. Hear what he hears and feel what he feels. We read his interpretation of the event, at the time of the event.

Food for Thought

When writing in a limited POV, you can only show what is reasonable for your POV character to know, see, hear, smell, feel or think. This will allow your reader to feel very close to the POV character. If done well, it will be as if you place the reader right in the middle of the story. He’ll almost forget he’s reading a story or a novel.

The downside of using this POV is the fact that it limits the amount of information you can give your reader. The POV of Red Riding Hood, for example, wouldn’t include the presence of the wolf stalking her, unless she herself is aware of that fact. A lot of things that might be able to add a layer of suspense to your story are off limits for this reason, when writing in a limited POV.

In a longer piece, we could switch between two or more POV characters and show our readers different sides of the story, when needed. Remember those last two words and remember them well. I’m tempted to tattoo them on the inside of my wrist, myself. Just to make sure.

In a shorter piece, it is commonly recommended to stick to one POV character. You won’t have the space you need to do justice to multiple POVs.

When it comes to switching POVs within a story, let me remind you of my motto: Less is more. Only use it of you absolutely need it and take my word for it. You don’t need it as much as you think you do. Remember, you don’t want to start headhopping. You’ll either make your reader dizzy or convince him your protagonist suffers from Multiple Personality Disorder.

If you need to give your reader information or show him a scene that doesn’t involve your main POV character, you could add a scene or chapter in a different character’s POV.

It’s important to let a scene or chapter flow as smoothly as possible, and switch POV at a scene break or, preferably, a chapter break. Switching POV to another character in the middle of a scene interrupts the flow of thought for your reader and it pulls him out of the story. It places distance between your reader and your character and you don’t want that. At all. This is what we--at The Writers’ Block and probably in other places where writers convene--call headhopping. If you feel like you can’t tell your story without providing more information than one limited POV can show in one scene, you may want to consider writing in an omniscient POV.

The Fly on the Wall: Omniscient POV

This allows us to show our readers all of the characters in a story. Depending on who your narrator is, you might even be able to show us some of their perceptions, thoughts and feelings.

Food for Thought

Bear in mind that even an omniscient narrator might have his limitations. Not every omniscient narrator is absolutely aware of every thought and every feeling belonging to every character. He might not know everything there is to know about the backstory. He might not care about every bit of backstory.

For example, if someone tells us a personal story as it was passed onto them by their grandmother, they would only know things that are reasonable for the grandmother to know. If she had no interest in politics, you can’t really work political intrigue into your story. The grandmother wouldn’t have been paying attention to it and so it wouldn’t figure in her story. But if there are details the grandmother discovered after the event, they could be added to the story.

Another thing to bear in mind is this: An omniscient narrator relating the story inserts his presence between your reader and your characters. It creates more distance between them, making it harder for your reader to feel connected to the events. Because the feelings and perceptions of multiple characters are involved, this makes it even more difficult for your reader to feel invested in the piece.

The last thing I want you to remember when attempting to write in an omniscient POV is this: It’s a very difficult thing to do well.

Remember that your narrator is just another character in your story. The only difference between him and the others is his perspective and the amount of background knowledge he has. But a strong narrator will develop his own voice and personality, just like your other characters.

A lot of writers who decide to write in an omniscient voice fail at keeping the narrative voice consistent, ending up with a piece that jumps from one limited POV to another. In other words, they end up headhopping. And we already know that that is one thing we don’t want to do.

Right? Right.

Stay Tuned for More

This is about as much information my conscience will allow me to dump on you all in one sitting. There is so much more to say about the different POVs in writing but it would never fit into one single post. I plan to write more in depth posts on the different POV options but I had to start somewhere.

The other parts of my TinyTeaches series can be found on my Steemshelf. If you’d like to explore some of my other posts, feel free to pay a visit to my off-Steem page where I keep track of the content I’ve posted on the blockchain.

Hugs

Tiny


The Writer’s Block is a home to writers from every corner of the world, and from every discipline that involves the written word. I consider myself lucky to have found this amazing community. Not only have I found help, support and encouragement there, but I’ve found people who feel the same way I do about writing. I’ve found a second family there. Do you write? Would you love to be a part of a community that can help you learn and improve your writing skill? Our door is always open for kindred spirits. Come and pay us a visit by pointing your pointy thingie at the animation below and clicking.







Sort:  

This series is so good, but this one takes the cake. Knocked it out of the park tiny! This should be pinned in the fiction workshop so I can refer new, budding authors to it, when needed.

I was just thinking this as well!

Wow. Thank you, AK and Anike. You do have pinning powers. Hope you realise that. ;-)

This turned out really well, Tiny. Great job with this. As ever, you take a difficult subject and make it easy to understand. I think that's your talent!

Thank you so much, Andrew. Teaching is something I enjoy immensely. I think that helps. Hugs

Support good witnesses AND good writers :)

I appreciate your POV!

Wow. Good one. ;-)

Thank you for your kind comment.

One of the best articles on POV I've read.

You always say that about these posts. :-D

She rarely says it to me, so I'm thinking yours really must be good :)

blushes

I guess I have to let you all be the judge of that.

Well, if it's TRUE....

I mentioned this post in this week edition of The Library

Wow, thank you so much.
Stay tuned for the next parts with a more in-depth discussion of both POV options. ;-)

I will stay tuned. Sounds like another great article on the way.

Make that two :-D

Then I will have no excuse after that to mes up POV.

Great article! It bugs me no end when actual published authors are guilty of POV abuse and it's one of the first things to really nail down when you're learning to write.

Head-hopping. That's a good term. Now it's going to be stuck in my memory!

I know. It's frustrating, isn't it? Thank you for your kind comment. ;-)

Resteemed.

Quite educative. I must confess that most times when I write, I don't really give much thought to which POV to use. The story seems to come to me with it's own POV. Often times, this makes me wonder if I'm really doing it right. I don't know if anybody here feels the same way.

Well, if it works, it works. I started writing Depp POV pieces before I even knew what a POV was but that made my POV inconsistent. Some people instinctively get it right, but I believe that the ability to make a conscious and deliberated decision van only be to your own advantage as a writer. ;-)

Thank you for your kind comment.

You are welcome.

Very good summary. Like it very much. One Question: The Limited POV can be in first or third person correct?

Thank you for your kind comment. My next post will go more in depth on limited POV and the various tense and person options it offers. ;-)

Glad you liked it.

Happy to have read it. :)

If you want to discuss this, or other writing matters, you are always welcome for a chat over at our Discord server. ;-)

I know. You invited me a few weeks ago. I have the feeling that I have nothing worthy to contribute as of now, that's why I still didn't joined. :/ More like writers fear than writers block.

I remember inviting you but suspected something like this. That's why I'm poking at you... (Sorry, not sorry)

We work with writers of all levels of experience and language backgrounds. Some come in and acclimatise for a bit before actually beginning to submit their work. That's OK too.

We have one thing in common and that is our love for the written word. Promise we won't bite. I just ate, anyway so no reason to worry. ;-)

Haha thanks. I have the link to the discord group in my favorites since that day. Still won't promise, but I want to try and hopefully will get over my shadow soon. :)

You asked an intelligent writer question that I came out of my cave to answer. That proves you have something to contribute. Please join us. It's easier "in person" on discord to connect you with the right resources for where you are now in your journey.

Now I am off to hermit again a bit...

You are all very kind @bex-dk, @pathtosuccess, @anikekirsten (hope I didn't forget anyone). I will have a look soon. Thank you so much :)

Correct. The pronouns are different but the basic ideas are the same. Some character's voices fit better with one or the other... or perhaps the author has more luck finding their voice with one or the other.

Thanks :)

Lovely tiny!!
After my first fiction experience, Im reading these tutorials from a whole different perspective.A different POV (get it??? Kadung tsjjjjj haha)

Keep it up, pleeeease save us noobs from pitfalls!

This noob shall do her best to help other noobs navigate the tricky waters of fiction writing.

;-)

@tinypaleokitchen gelieve de link van uw post onder de hashtag #allducthenglish in de promo-kanalen van de 'all dutch' community te droppen. Zo vinden de mods van de 'all ducth' community jouw posts gemakkelijker terug, waarvoor alvast bedankt. Ik heb terug heel wat bij geleerd over hoe ik moet bloggen en waar ik rekening moet houden als blogger. Deze blogs is een zeer informatieve bron om dingen bij te leren over het bloggen, groeten

Oei ik ga proberen om dat niet te vergeten.

vermelding.jpg

Hi @tinypaleokitchen, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EST or 7PM EST in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Wow, than you so much @shadowspub!

This is excellent. What's your opinion on using limited POV, but having multiple POV characters in one story? I don't mean head-hopping, of course. There has to be an overall logic and definite separation between the voices, say chapters, or sections of the book. Most importantly, how many POVs is too many? I've had some people adamantly argue for 1, while others will allow 2 or, rarely, 3. Thoughts?

One POV is hard to do. I agree that you can switch POV at a scene or chapter break. The number of POVs you need depends on the complexity of the stories.

I believe we shouldn't switch POV anymore than absolutely necessary. But that necessity will be different with every story.

Do remember that each POV character also needs a clear arc. Hop into the block for discussions if you feel like it. ;-)

Thanks! My original novel mss had 3 POV characters. An editor hated it, I think in retrospect because there was a section where the same sequence of events were retold from three different perspectives. I've since removed that device, but I think at least 2 POV characters are needed to tell the story. I'll stop by the Block if I get a chance this weekend!

Nicely put.

Bang up job @ tinypaleokitchen. You certainly can get your point across. Liked your post on dialog as well. Looking forward to more.

Wow. You can certainly pay a girl a compliment. Succeeded in making me blush.

Looking forward to more! ;-)

Hmmm. On second thought, it might be a subtle way of telling me I nagged on about the subject...

This made me laugh. Being a bit neurotic is also the sign of a good writer, someone who thinks too much. You wouldn't want to be normal, would you?

Normal??? Shudders. Goddess, no. Being neurotic just a bit definitely makes a good writer. I'm neurotic enough to scroll up and edit out that damn phone typoo in a previous comment. XD

I dread the eventual attempts I'll be making on the Omni POV. But I will have to tackle it sometime. I have to admit, I don't truly understand points of view as well as I should. I'm looking forward to more POV posts.

Oh my gosh. I understand omni, but I dread it all the same. I guess I'll have to explore it more if I'm going to dedicate a TinyTeaches post to it though. An example story is something I'm contemplating but I hope I can fit that into my schedule.

Thank you for this nice class. I normally write objective or like the Fly in the Wall, but I want to try a limited POV, because I've done it just a few times. I guess I'm scared of someone misundertand my story.

A Deep POV doesn't have to lack in detail. Don't worry. Just go for it.

I'm happy to see your posting
your very nice post..dear @linypaleokitchen

Thanks for the post, for now I'm focusing on writing believable First Person POV. But one day I wish to write perfect Omni3rd (Omniscient Third Person).

It's hard to write third person without jumping from a character to the next. I also noticed that many popular works are doing it wrong!!

But many popular works are written by an author who has made a name for himself already. Therein lies the difference.

Haha, yeah... To beat someone already popular you have to write something good enough that shift all the attention to you.

I can't believe I missed this when you posted it, @tinypaleokitchen. This is such excellent information, especially for writers who are struggling with point-of-view in their stories. I'm really glad it's pinned in the fiction workshop in TWB for future reference!

No problem, Jayna. I'm working on an in depth piece on limited POV as we speak. ;-)

I look forward to it! I wrote several POV posts in my writing workshop series. Let me know if you want me to DM links as food for thought. 😊