Biddle's Steemit Tips For Beginners - ENGAGING YOUR AUDIENCE AND MAKING FRIENDS

in #tips7 years ago (edited)

Social Media is all about making connections, friends, and bringing the world together. It's important to connect with your audience and there are different ways to connect with them that will make them have a positive perception of you. You may just even make some friends along the way and if that isn't the point of it all, then I don't know what is! :) Some different good habits that can help make people feel welcome on your page and can help in starting dialogues between you and other Steemians, include:

  1. Answering Thoughtful Comments - People often will post poignant reactions, good questions, and give great feedback regarding your article. In these cases, it is very important for you to respond to their feedback and participation, as well as reward them if you find value in their comment, using the upvote system. This will make them want to add valuable input more often, will create a good relationship with them, and will make friends. I've made some great friends through Steemit because of the connections made in the comment feed between me and those who post regular comments in my content! That being said, some responses (namely, automated ones, with some rare exceptions) shouldn't really be positively reinforced in my opinion. There are some exceptions to that, but I personally think that you can ignore comments such as "My post is vote" (doesn't make too much sense), "Great stuff!" (first time this is fine, but if they habitually add this same content, with no variation, it is likely a bot), "Please vote for me", (that's all) and others like that. But, point is, answering thoughtful responses is a great way to make friends and engage the audience!

  2. Reciprocation - Reciprocation can be in the form of upvoting thoughtful comments, resteeming articles you find value in from audience members, upvoting their articles, as well as promoting them in your content. A good example is when I wrote an article regarding the new 'cover image' feature in Steemit. One of the members of my audience shared a comment that pointed to an article that gave free access to 10 great cover photos, as well as asked for feedback on his. Now, I could tell this guy was a great artist, because his cover image was AWESOME! So, I recommended in the comment section that my viewers take a look at his cover image for a great example of what can be done with it; I made a friend and I helped a fellow Steemian get more exposure to viewers! There are different ways to reciprocate, but the point is that you make sure you do, because it is a very important part of being successful on Steemit!

  3. Audience Participation - Audience participation is a great way to get people involved, make connections, and gain followers, which lead to rewards. Some ways to get the audience involved is to directly ask for feedback/opinions/thoughts in your article, to create a contest of some time with the promise of rewards, or to open the floor for debate at the end of your article. Another way is to give your audience a challenge, such as a special diet, a special task, or the challenge to write a specific type of article, and ask that the users follow up with you. The sky is the limit with ways you can get your audience to participate and doing so will make their connection stronger with you and will help you in your journey to ultimate success in Steemit.

These three things can go a long way in creating a fun, interactive profile that will lead to people having a good time and wanting to come back, follow you, and award you for your great contributions. For more tips and tricks, feel free to visit my site as well, gainingsteem.com (this article is included there)! :) Tell other interested friends about my site if they are looking to gain a lot of followers, engage a lot of people, and make a lot of friends. :)

AS ALWAYS, WISHES OF WEALTH AND HEALTH FOR ALL! :)

Sort:  

Hi @biddle
Thx for some good advice. Will try to follow your examples. Keep on coming whit tips and hints
Tommel opp.jpg

You're very welcome and thanks for reading! :) Sure thing! :)

Nice

@biddle, thank you for writing and the advise. I will certainly use the advise

Have a nice day

Thanks for reading and you're very welcome! :) You have a great day too! :)

thanks for following me @rizwankhan
I always follow and upvote back those who follow and upvote me.I am following you now and upvoted your post.I hope you like it.I appreciate you if you upvoted my posts with upvoting back.have a nice journey at steemit

Sure thing! I'll look at some of your content (but also hope you join in some fun, non-automated conversation at some point too!)! :) Cheers! :)

Very informative... I am a beginner and this helps me a lot, cheers mate! thanks so much =)

I'm glad it was helpful! You're very welcome! :)

i agree with posting insightful comments - after all the author wants to be rewarded also by an audience which reads and interacts with the content. I also got a few new followers simply by commenting.

That's awesome! Yeah, it's definitely a good way to meet people here and a good way to connect! :) Thanks for reading! :D and exactly! :)

definitely important for the author to feel a sense of reward for what is posted

Thank you for the great advice-I am starting to up vote and follow your content

You're very welcome! :) and thanks for following! I'll make sure to take a look at yours too! :)

:))))))))))))

Why hang out on social media if not for being social?

I agree that reinforcing bots is not really a great idea. Sometimes, it takes a bit to figure out who is and who is not a bot, but as you say, seeing the same comment over and over again and it has nothing to do with the post is a clue :)

I keep wondering how people can have 70 votes and only 17 views. I am sure some day I figure out what that is all about.

I completely agree! I'll give the benefit of the doubt, but if it's the same comment over and over or it is incoherent, those are red flags that it's a bot!

and as far as the votes being greater than views, I think a lot of people sometimes will just click on the upvote in the feed if they think an article title is enticing enough that it will go viral, so that they can get curation rewards. I like to read content before upvoting it personally! :)

Me too. Since you are more experienced. How does the recharging of voting power work? I seem to have fun on empty for a few days now.

Thank you for the advice

You're very welcome! :)

A simple guide to gain steem.

You are one of my favorite people on steemit. Im always interested in what you post. Keeps me entertained. You have definitely become a good friend!

@jwiggly I was actually just thinking that earlier today, my friend! I completely agree! You were one of the main people I thought of when I was writing 'you might even make some friends'! haha I'm glad I can be entertaining and likewise for sure! I love all your comments and they've become one of my daily little conversations! :D

Check this out! This helps me as a noobe. A way to get notified when someone relies to your posts https://steemit.com/steemit/@julzee/how-to-get-steemit-comment-upvote-reply-notifications

I'll take a look! :)

Just started about a month ago and have been slow to engage. This is great advise. Thank you for sharing!

Welcome to Steemit! :) You're very welcome and thanks! :)

thanks for this post helped a lot. I would be grateful if you go through my story
https://steemit.com/trending/introducingmyself

I'll absolutely take a look! Welcome to Steemit, btw (I see that's an intro post)! :) You're welcome!

I have been here a month and I already feel like I have made a few friends here. It is so nice when you have a bit of a chat with new people here - I have got a few people already where I am looking out for their next posts!

Awesome! Welcome, btw! :) and yeah, for sure one of my favorite parts is meeting new people and becoming friends! :)

awesome piece.

Thanks! :)

Good tips. M following you. Do vote and comment on my posts if you like. Thank you.

Sure thing! I'll take a look at some of your content! You're welcome! :)

Good tips and examples. Expecially for a noob (like me). :)

Thanks! I'm glad you found them useful! :) Welcome to Steemit, btw! :)

Great tips good sharing

Thanks! :)

I am about a week old on steemit but must say your post opened my eyes to better ways of making new friends. Thanks I will try out every point stated in your post

I'm glad you found it useful! You're very welcome! :) Welcome to Steemit, btw! :)

You make great points. Like life itself, it's about community.

Thanks! :) and so true! :)

This is very useful tips, it is difficult to make people get interested especially when you don't see the person on other side. Thanks!

I completely agree! I'm glad you found them useful. You're very welcome! and thanks for reading! :)

thanks biddle, those were good points you made. Also thanks 4 following me, i now follow you. Check out my blog sometime and if you like something upvote it pls. I'm new to steemit and this helped me a lot. Best wishes from kenentertainment! One Love

Absolutely @kenentertainment ! You're very welcome and thanks! I'll definitely check your page out! :)

awesome man, thank you for this. I'm new to steemit so this is very big help.!

You're very welcome! I'm glad it is helpful, thanks! :) and welcome to Steemit! :)

great post, as usual!

Thanks!

Connect and chat

Are you saying you want to connect and chat? :)

I strongly agree what you share today,and I always follow her

Puedo traducir al español lo que publicaste y publicarlo a la vez sin problemas?

 7 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks!