Sort:  

Nice to see someone posting about aikido on here!

Thank you. How long have you been practicing for?

Fourteen years. I'm currently a Nidan. I am actually running a dojo now, with the help of some other senior students of my late Sensei (and more experienced practitioners in our association, TAA).

Like you said in your video, those interested in being the most effective in a sport fight don't get it. But those who get it, really get it.

I wrote a little about picking up and moving on after my Sensei's passing here. The post is well past payout so if you like it, don't waste your upvote - just keep in touch!

I'm sorry to hear about your lost. And are you doing tamici aikido?

No, we practice Iwama style. Our association is Takemusu Aikido Association - it's under Hombu dojo, but with a lineage that follows Morohiro Saito Sensei.

Nice, my second guess would have been tenshin but iwama is good two.

Is there anything you think someone should talk about that the public doesn't know about?

Good question. I wish people understood what a practice like Aikido actually provides to the body and the brain. People are constantly trying to regulate their energy, attention, mood, and focus with superficial fixes, trying to train their thoughts or behavior with affirmations, discipline, or therapy. They don't know the three inputs most effective at integrating brain activity are touch, heavy muscle activity, and movement in 3-dimensional space. There aren't many opportunities for adults to get this vital input, and we don't even realize how the lack of activity effects mood, productivity, relationships, and judgement.

To get you going on Steem, I want to recommend a service called @dustsweeper .
It makes sure the 1 and 2 cent votes you get on comments (most users don't have a large vote) meet the threshold to be actually paid out. Very well worth the $1 or $2 investment.

Ill try to keep that in mind when i have some disposable income.

You are now enrolled in dustsweeper. Least I could do for a good conversation.
I had a great class at my dojo tonight. We've been through a lot, and I'm grateful for my training partners. Keep training, it's worth it

Whats dustsweeper?

Its good to hear you enjoyed your class. We had a new guy to today at the end of class suggest its interesting how you can physically practice the philosophy, witch was what you where telling me about.