Testing the unlimited T-Mobile 4G package.

in #tmobile3 years ago

image.png

So now T-Mobile offers literally unlimited 4G cellular internet for your home for $50/month. It's supposed to transition to 5G soon - in my city, in about one month.

I don't mean "unlimited until you use X GB and then your speed drops to 3G or 2G speeds." I mean unlimited, period.

I'm testing it right now at home with a free, one month, no obligations trial.

They send you a combination modem-router. The modem-router receives 4G cellular data as a modem and outputs standard Wifi, as an ordinary router.

It also has LAN ports, like a standard router. I connected one of the LAN ports to my preexisting router's WAN port, treating the modem-router as if it were only a modem. My preexisting router immediately recognized the internet and all my Wifi devices received the internet as normal.

I am benchmarking it at about 25 Mbps. The T-Mobile representative told me I should expect about 50 to 150 Mbps now, and double that later this month, when they move to 5G. Well, I'm not hitting that speed. Still, 25 Mbps is nothing to sneeze at. That's enough to stream Netflix at 4K.

Unless that 5G hits about 300 Mbps, I probably won't be renewing this trial. I've currently got 400 Mbps cable internet for $70/month, and so cellular for $50/mo will only be worth considering if it's around 300 Mbps. Still, this should be a great boon for rural areas that have cellular data but no wired internet. 25 Mbps for $50/month with no data cap or slowdowns.

90 ms ping. Not amazing, but not horrible.