You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today I discovered . . . Mesmerising Machines

Hi @cryptogee,

It made me wonder what she would make of such a machine, and would she ever use one, or would that somehow divorce her from her artistic processes?

Ah yes, the wonderful and capable waterjet -
when I first learned of such a thing about 10 years ago I felt both excited and sort of threatened that it was a technology that would make my work obsolete and my many years of developing my art and craft meaningless. But what I've come to believe - at least for now - is that there is a time and place for super exacting fast hands-off technology that performs much more efficiently than a human can, and there's a time and place for handmade. We individually and as a society need to be smart enough to know the difference and why!

Sort:  

Hey good to see you, Ruth!