Rainy Day, Art Day (pt 2)

in #toddler2 years ago

It shouldn't surprise me anymore at how quickly she learns. Of course, she always learns the stuff she's interested in the most like "crafts" ~ which is her new favourite word.

Invoking the word "crafts" can clean a mess up quicker than any pleading could. Although you can't tell looking at the stuff on the floor behind her 😂

The day's task was to finish our project and after taking off the gems and gluing more pieces of paper down, she was finally ready to proceed to the next step.

Time to cut the crepe paper into strips.

This was a job for me since we didn't have any safety scissors. Her job was to hand me the crepe paper.

Once all the strips were cut, we turned the page over and she started to glue each strip down.

She was so pleased with herself that she had to show Bingo and Rusty her expert gluing skills.

Now it was my turn to shine.

I should have mentioned that prior to gluing the crepe down, I rolled the page to create a cylinder and then marked the spot where the edges of the paper stopped so I knew up to where we could glue the crepe.

I then glued the ends to create a cylinder, stapled both ends for good measure, especially while we waited for the glue to dry, then folded it and poked a hole for the chenille stick.

And here it is!! It's a windsock!

TODAY'S TAKE AWAY

  • Finishing a project ~ In terms of toddler arts and crafts this wasn't the easiest or quickest but that was the whole idea. I wanted her to go through the process and see what she can accomplish once she completed a task and also to see the possibilities.
  • Identifying Colours ~ She's been getting better and better with her colours, and I tested this when I asked her to identify the crepe paper colours as she glued them down.
  • Memory and Motor Skills ~ She remembered what the glue was for and how to use it. 2nd day in and I noticed she was able to manoeuvre the bulky glue where she wanted it and give it a squeeze.

My personal take away was to remember to turn the TV OFF! I noticed she wasn't as engaged, but then again all we did was to glue crepe down. I'm sure if she was smooshing paint with her hands it would have been a different story, but still, it didn't help that the tv was on.

Overall though I think it was a success!

Sort:  

hey!!!

HOW ARE YOU???

Got a new kiddo I see 💖

Awww clever baby so much cuteness XD and the windsock is pretty neat too :) She's so happy XD

For future reference (if game, your way is obviously much moar saferer) you can get away with not having safety scissors if you're pretty much on top of her eagle eyeing every snip. I've done this a couple of times when ours vanished (we could usually find them again but there were a couple of times where I had to replace them as it was literal months before the old ones resurfaced, and to this day one is just gone).

Tell her I said she did a great job and it looks awesome? :) (because she'll totally know who I am XD)