Day 7: thank goodness for tiled floors

in #toddler7 years ago

We've have a long day today, we woke to the sound of my son crying and calling out for daddy at 2am. My husband went in to check if he was ok and found him covered in sick sitting on his bed. My husband took of our sons pyjamas and showered him down in the bathroom changed his nappy and pjs and brought him into our room.

I'd just feed and changed our daughter and needed to express milk. I'd usually do this in the bedroom but as our son was now trying to sleep in our bed I went to sit in our ensuite.

I finished expressing and got back into bed, 10 minutes later my son projectile vomited all over my husband and our bed. I didn't know he had already been sick in his room as I was busy expressing when my husband came into our room with him. For the second time my husband took our son washed and changed him while I stripped our bed, then my husband said to check our sons room and I had to strip his bed too.

We'd eaten sweet potato, Lamb chops and green beans. Cleaning the sheets, I flushed what I could get off the sheets down the loo and rinsed the sheets out in the bathroom basin. Highly recommend doing those steps before putting sheet into the washing machine. A top tip I learnt from my mum. Of course as I removed the food particles I tried to work out what had made him ill as we had all eaten the same thing yet me and hubby were fine.

I had left the skin on the sweet potato which is very fibrous, initially I thought that was the cause as all of the skin came up. The next time he threw up pieces of what looks like raw lamb, fat and sinew came up. He continued vomiting about every hour until 9am. Drinking water in between he managed to clear what every was causing the sickness then finally he fell asleep.

He woke up before lunch and we fed him bland starchy foods, white bread toasted, crackers water and plain pasta. All of which he kept down and when to bed as normal around 7pm.

I'll always make sure meat is cooked through thoroughly from now on as that's what I suspect caused him to be ill. If he cries in the night to always check on him. Babies and toddlers health can decline rapidly and my son wouldn't come out of his room because he probably thought he'd be in trouble. He has just transitioned from a cot to toddler bed so may also be unaware that he can get out of bed easily.

Sort:  

Holy moly that sounds like a real mess. Good to hear the little guy is OK. Lamb chops hey? Mmm sounds like they were the culprits? tip!

Tiled floors help with the clean up, trying to get a 2.5 year old to be sick into a bucket is near on impossible 🤦🏻‍♀️

Congratulations @nataliemk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!